Part 4: Tentacles of Caste - Zz*UNPUB* CASTE Resources - ALA Share - GSU Library Research Guides at Georgia State University

Topics for Exploration in Part Four

Brown Eyes vs Blue Eyes Experiment

Bias

Employers Network for Equality & Inclusion (2015) A brief video explanation of unconscious bias

Test Yourself for Hidden Bias (from Learning for Justice)
Learning for Justice (n.d.) Psychologists at Harvard, the University of Virginia and the University of Washington created "Project Implicit" to develop Hidden Bias Tests—called Implicit Association Tests, or IATs, in the academic world—to measure unconscious bias.
Implicit Bias
Racial Equity Tools provides research, resources, and tools for addressing bias

Marijuana Industry

It is time for a Cannabis Opportunity Agenda
Makada Henry-Nickie and John Hudak - Brookings Institute (3/23/2020) The national conversation on cannabis stands at a pivotal inflection point that provides policymakers and legislators with an extraordinary opportunity to establish a policy context wherein inclusive economic opportunities can thrive in tandem with responsible investments to redress longstanding harms.
“Hash”ing out inequality in the legal recreational cannabis industry
Maya Rahwanji - Northwestern Journal of International Law & Business (2019) It is without doubt that this new industry is profitable and creates many job opportunities, but the first question we must ask is whether this new and booming industry is profitable and accessible to everyone. Unfortunately, the answer to that question is no.

Lynching

Click here to link to an entire research guide on lynching.

Police Response and Race

Does the "Race of Places" Influence Police Officer Decision Making?
Cynthia Lum (September 2010) This document is a research report submitted to the U.S. Department of Justice. This report has not been published by the Department. Opinions or points of view expressed are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the official position or policies of the U.S. Department of Justice.
How Racial Segregation and Policing Intersect in America
Robin Smyton - TuftsNow (6/17/2020) A study of race and policing shows disturbing differences between Black and white neighborhoods
The Death Penalty in 2020: Year End Report
Death Penalty Information Center

Response to Ebola Virus

EBOLA: Teaching Science, Race, and the Media
Alexa Schindel and Sara Tolbert - Rethinking Schools (Fall 2016) The article describes the experience of designing a lesson that allow pre-service elementary teachers at the University at Buffalo to question how racialized public discourse about the Ebola virus.

Racial Profiling within Caste System

Napping and golfing while black raise suspicion, and the police
Victor Daniel - New York Times (5/13/2018) What makes the police encounters chilling is how routine they are. They happen while black people are going about their everyday lives, only to be interrupted by someone calling the police for the thinnest of suspicions. In the past month, more than a handful of such interactions have attracted widespread attention on social media -- and, in turn, in national outlets like The Times, CNN and The Washington Post.
How some people avoid racially tinged brushes with the law
Fahima Haque and Lela Moore- New York Times (5/11/2018) What do some of us do to make ourselves feel safer in public spaces? Here is what our readers said.

Bandwidth recovery : helping students reclaim cognitive resources lost to poverty, racism, and social marginalization
Ebook speaks to mental health consequences of race and poverty

Topics for Exploration in Part Four (continued)

World Wars and African Americans

World War I and the African-American experience
Jarret Bencks - BrandeisNow (7/21/2014) Though often overshadowed by World War II, the African-American experience in World War I was a transformative moment in black history, says Chad Williams, chair of the Department of African and African American Studies at Brandeis University.
‘Black soldiers were expendable – then forgettable’
David Olusoga - The Guardian (11/11/2018) Black and Asian troops fought beside white comrades – but after the armistice came the violent return of racial subjugation.
They were among the fiercest American soldiers in WWI. Here’s why they were horribly mistreated when they returned home
David Roza - Task & Force (3/11/2020) The story of the 369th, also known as The Harlem Hellfighters, and of the larger African-American experience in WWI, is the subject of an exhibit called “We Return Fighting,” which is currently on display at the National Museum of African American History and Culture (NMAAHC) in Washington D.C.

Media Distortion and Race

When They See Us: Improving the Media’s Coverage of Black Men and Boys
The Opportunity Agenda - When They See Us: Improving the Media’s Coverage of Black Men and Boys (2019) This memo is intended to help journalists and media organizations produce fuller and more accurate reporting on African-American boys and men while reducing bias and stereotyping in their coverage. It is designed to inform coverage around the release of the new film, When They See Us, and the 30th Anniversary of the Central Park Five case in 1989.
A dangerous distortion of our families representation of familes, by race, in news and opinion media
Dr. Travis L. Dixon - Color of Change (January 2018) This study involved a systematic content analysis of a recent two-year sample of cable and network news shows, national and local newspaper articles, and online opinion site content. The findings of the study indicate that news and opinion media do, in fact, perpetuate inaccurate representations of Black families across several different areas of coverage.
The Power of (Mis)Representation: Why Racial and Ethnic Stereotypes in the Media Matter
Mari Castañeda - Challenging Inequalities: Readings in Race, Ethnicity, and Immigration (2018)The author examines why racial and ethnic stereotypes in the media matter and their implications. It does so through four sections as an effort to clearly articulate media’s importance even as digital technologies promise to upend the status quo. Includes the ways in which media representations and misrepresentations have the power to incite cognitive and social impact, discusses the most dominant ethnic and racial stereotypes in the media,how media representations justify racial inequality and discrimination, and the different ways organizations, activists, and young people are working to change the circulation of narratives.

American Sports and Racism

Baseball, the Color Line, and Jackie Robinson
Library of Congress Collection (n.d.) This presentation was created to commemorate Jackie Robinson's achievements and describe some aspects of the color line's development and the Negro Leagues.
Sports: Leveling the Playing Field - an exhibition
National Museum of African American History and Culture (n.d.) Explore the contributions of athletes, both on and off the field. Some athletes have been symbolic figures of black ability, while others have taken their activism beyond the court to the courtroom, boardroom and the newsroom.
On the Particular Racism of Native American Mascots
Erin C. Traver - Critical Philosophy of Race (2016) The usage of Native American mascots is racist not only because it involves stereotypical portrayals of Native Americans, but (more specifically) because it treats Native persons simply as a means to symbolic unification—and not, importantly, as members of the community they thus serve. In other words, in these cases mascots work as unifying signifiers precisely by being the purely instrumental facilitator of a group's collective fantasy of itself.
The History of Baseball and Civil Rights in America
National Baseball Hall of Fame (n.d.) A snapshot of any point in time of America’s last 150 years includes the fabric of baseball. And often, baseball was at the forefront of cultural change. “Jackie Robinson made my success possible,” said Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. “Without him, I would never have been able to do what I did.” The magnitude of those words cannot be overstated. Dr. King’s lasting work as a Civil Rights pioneer touched all areas of the American experience, yet he credited a baseball player with making his dream viable.

Race in American Sports (eBook) by James L. Conyers (Editor)
These essays critically examine the issue of race in college and professional sports, beginning with the effects of stereotypes on black female college athletes, and the self-handicapping of black male college athletes. Also discussed is the movement of colleges between NCAA designated conferences, and the economic impact and effects on academics for blacks.

Sources Discussed In Text

Social Security Act of 1935
Full text of the Social Security Act of 1935
Wagner Act
It established the National Labor Relations Board and addressed relations between unions and employers in the private sector.
John Boehner Was Once 'Unalterably Opposed' To Marijuana. He Now Wants It To Be Legal
Boehner now on board of Acreage Holdings, a publicly-traded cannabis company based in New York. Article speaks to Wilkerson's assertion that businessmen are making money on product African-Americans are jailed for in inordinate numbers.
Jason Breslow - NPR (03/16/2019)
Reserved And Resilient, Bombing Victim Anthony Stephan House Had Agreed To Mentor Kids This Summer
Audrey McGlinchy - NPR Austin (03/20/2018)

Charles Stuart case in Boston