Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mining References: How Do I Find It? Following the Reference

Now That You Know What It Is, How Do You Find It?

Need a Print Book?

The GSU Library is currently open to GSU faculty/students/staff.

Book checkout is available in the library. We now have self-service checkout machines available. 

You also have to the option to arrange for curbside pickup of books and other materials (DVDs, CDs, etc.) from GSU Libraries.
Click here for information about arranging for a pickup.

GIL Express and Interlibrary Loan of print books are available. Materials requested via GIL Express and Interlibrary Loan can also be picked up curbside

Books, Microfilm/Microfiche, Government Documents, Special Collections/Archives

Start with our catalog at GILFind.

If GSU's library doesn't have what you need, you have, don't give up. There are several options to get the book you want:

University System of Georgia Libraries - You can check out books from any other University System of Georgia library with your Panthercard. You can also place a GIL Express request to have a book from another USG school (or from another GSU campus) be sent to a GSU campus. (Please note that you cannot borrow ebooks from other USG Libraries, or from any other university libraries).

Emory - you can also borrow materials at Emory with your Panther Card. For current information about Emory University Libraries' print borrowing availability, consult their library directly. 

ARCHE - you can also borrow books from several local private colleges. Click here for a list of ARCHE schools. You may want to contact the library in advance to get further information about borrowing privileges (what kind of ID is needed, how long you can check out a book for, and so on). For current information about an ARCHE school's print borrowing availability, contact that school's library directly. 

Atlanta-Fulton County Public Library Catalog - GSU students & faculty may obtain library cards from the Atlanta-Fulton County Public Library, then borrow materials. For current information about print checkouts from Fulton County Library branches, consult the AFPLS site directly. 


Use Interlibrary Loan to request books you find in WorldCat (below)
(or any other library catalog):

Journals, Magazines, Newspapers

These links are for finding journals, magazines, and newspapers
by the title of the periodical.

To find individual articles, see the Journal Articles box, above.

Interdisciplinary Article Databases available @ GSU

These are broad databases covering many different disciplines.
Use "Advanced Search" to search by author and/or title.

You can also check related research guides to find additional databases for your topic. To see all of our databases, use our A-Z list.

Scholarly Journal Articles

Subject article databases generally have "Advanced Search" options that will let you search for an article by author and/or title if known.

This is only a small sample of subject databases available to you.

To identify databases for a particular subject or discipline, use the "Databases by Subject" dropdown on the library's homepage.

Historical Magazines/Journals

(Newspaper collections are listed separately under on the GSU Library Historical Newspapers Research Guide.)

Books Available Online

These online collections include digital versions of many out-of-copyright works including government documents, historical magazines and other periodicals, and books published before 1923. Coverage can be spotty, but these sites are worth searching...  just in case.

Local Newspapers

Are You Looking for a Book? Finding Electronic Books in the Era of COVID-19

If you'd like to check out a print book, you can request curbside pickup!

Click here for more information about curbside pickup.

You can currently also request books via GILExpress (from other USG libraries)
or via Interlibrary Loan (from other libraries) and arrange for curbside pickup.

Here are some strategies that you can use to access ebooks.

Please feel free to ask your subject librarian if you have any questions about finding electronic versions of texts!

Who is your subject librarian?
Click here and select your school/college and department to find your subject librarian and get their contact information!)

Help! I've found an ebook in the library's catalog and I'm not sure how to download it!

Different providers (i.e. ProQuest, EBSCO, etc.) have different requirements. Check out our Ebooks research guide for information about how to read/download ebooks.