GSU Library Research Guides: LGBTQ+ Studies: LGBTQ+ Studies

From the GSU Library Digital Collections

"Becoming a Man in 127 Easy Steps," written and performed by Scott Turner Schofield, program for the repeat engagement at 7 Stages Theatre, Atlanta, Georgia, August 14 - 24, 2008.

7 Stages Theatre (Atlanta, Ga.) Records. Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University Library.

Contact Us!

Want to suggest additional resources for this guide? Have a purchase recommendation? Want to help with the oral histories projects? Need assistance with finding resources? Contact us!

Morna Gerrard

Gender & Sexuality Collections Archivist

mgerrard@gsu.edu

Charlene Martoni

Outreach Librarian for the Social Sciences

cmartonimcelrath@gsu.edu

Download the LGBTQ+ Resources @ the GSU Library flyer!

LGBTQ+ Resources @ the GSU Library [flyer]

Note

Please do not contact us about linking to for-profit educational resources or other aggregator sites. We will not link to such resources from this guide.

Learning More About LGBTQ+ Literature

Lambda Literary
Website features book reviews, interviews, and features relating to LGBTQ+ literature.
GSU Library also has access to their Lambda Book Report from 1990-2009 (reviews all gay and lesbian books published in the US)
The Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide
Abstracts and reviews of books, both fiction and non-fiction, relating to all aspects of lesbian, gay, homosexual, bisexual, transgender, intersex, queer, and sexual variance topics.
ALA Stonewall Book Awards
List of books awarded Stonewall Book Awards by the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table of the American Library Association. You can suggest titles, too!

Major Databases for LGBTQ+ Studies

LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
This database contains LGBT journals, relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies, an LGBT thesaurus, author supplied abstracts and keywords, and searchable cited references.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Fulltext database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral science.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare, from 1970 to the present.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of psychology literature back to 1887. Also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Fulltext of selected scholarly journal , including 30 journals identified as pertaining to "Feminist & Women's Studies." Most recent 3-5 years are not included.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, and dissertations on U.S. & Canadian history (pre-history to the present).
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, and dissertations on world history since 1450 (excluding U.S. & Canada).
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations on language and literature. Subjects also include linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts covering the entire spectrum of film and television studies, including scholarly and popular sources.

LGBTQ+ Studies Courses @ GSU

Below are courses that explicitly or potentially cover LGBTQ+ topics - look in the Undergraduate and Graduate Course Catalogs for course descriptions.

African-American Lesbian and Gay Activism - WGSS 4780 / AAS 4780
Contemporary Moral Problems - PHIL 3720
Includes discussion of gay/lesbian rights.
Families and Society - SOCI 3101 / WGSS 3120
Feminism and Queer Theory - WGSS 4820 / 6820
Gender and Sexuality in European History - WGSS 4650 / HIST 4650
Gender and Sexuality in the African Diaspora - WGSS 4770 / AAS 4771
Gender and Society - SOCI 3216 / WGSS 3130 / SOCI 8216 / WGSS 8216
Girls - SOCI 4315 / WGSS 4310
Introduction to Human Sexuality - PSYC 2070
Introduction to LGBT Studies - WGSS 3030
Introduction to Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies - WGSS 2010
LGBTQ Literature - ENGL 3695
Narratives of Race, Gender and Sexuality: Quare Readings - AAS 3010
Queer Identities - SOCI 3356 / WGSS 3356
Religion and Sexuality: The Problem of the Erotic - RELS 4640
Sex, Culture, and Sexuality - ANTH 3100
Sexuality and Gender in Asia - WGSS 4240 / 6240
Sexuality and Nationalism - WGSS 4842
Sexuality and Society - SOCI 3156 / WGSS 3150 / SOCI 8156 / WGSS 8156
Sexuality Education for P-12-CTW - KH 3700
Special Topics in Sexuality Studies - WGSS 4911
Youth and Sexualities - WGSS 4844 / 6844