Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University Library offers a variety of databases for literary research. Try these to find articles on authors, novels, and literary themes:
Features content from Facts On File's extensive print literature collection, hundreds of Harold Bloom's essays examining the lives and works of great writers throughout history and the world, and thousands of critical articles published by noted scholars under the Bloom's Literary Criticism imprint. Also contains an archive of more than 46,000 characters; extensive entries on literary topics, themes, movements, genres, and authors; almost 170 video segments; and more.
Literary Reference Center Plus
Provides users with information on authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Literature Online (LION)
Provides support for the study of English literature by bringing together primary works, reference materials, and literary criticism. Content includes books and scholarly journals covering 600 AD to the present.
MLA International Bibliography
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Use the Library's Catalog, found in the Shortcuts list on the Library homepage, to find books on your literary topic or author. Using the example above, here's what a search for books on Mary Shelley's Frankenstein might look like:
Researching a Literature Topic
Suppose you’re taking a literature class and you’ve been assigned a research paper on Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein. You could go straight to the library catalog or articles databases to try to find books and articles on the novel, but you’d spend many frustrating hours trying to figure out what to write about using the massive amounts of information you’d find. Mind mapping, or clustering, at the beginning of the research process helps you to organize your thoughts before you ever sit down at a computer. Beginning with Frankenstein as the central keyword, you’d begin to brainstorm topics related to the novel and cluster these terms and ideas around the central term. Your mind map might look like this:
After completing your mind map, you should have a better idea of what interests you and what you’d like to research. If you pick one of the sub-categories (Frankenstein and Popular Culture or Social Issues in the Novel, for example), you’ll have a much more focused topic and can more quickly and easily begin the process of finding appropriate resources.
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It offers an interdisciplinary journal archive across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The archive offers an interlinked aggregation of scholarly works as well as long-term preservation.
Provides complete, full-text content in digital humanities and social science from over 120 publishers. Scholarly journals from leading university presses and scholarly societies are indexed and peer-reviewed, and full-text access includes current content from over 400 titles.