GSU Library Research Guides: PT 8500: Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis in the Health Sciences: Grey Literature

What is Grey Literature?

There are many definitions of grey literature, but it is usually understood to mean literature that is not formally published in sources such as books or journal articles. It may be described as ephemeral, invisible, informal, underground, etc., that is, literature that may be unevaluated, not peer-reviewed.

Grey Literature exists in many formats: reports-including preprints; preliminary progress and advanced reports; institutional, internal, technical, and statistical reports; research memoranda; state-of-the-art reports; market research reports; reports of commissions and study groups; as well as
* theses
* conference proceedings
* technical specifications and standards
* translations (not distributed commercially)
* bibliographies
* technical and commercial documentation
* official documents (issued in limited numbers)

Alberani V, De Castro Pietrangeli P, Mazza AM. The use of grey literature in health sciences: a preliminary survey. Bull Med Libr Assoc. 1990 Oct;78(4):358-63.

Rehab/PT Databases

CIRRIE Database of International Rehabilitation Research
Contains over 30,000 citations of international rehabilitation research published between 1990 and the present.
REHABDATA Database
A literature database on disability and rehabilitation with more than 75,000 resources, including organizations, agencies, Internet resources, reports, and research projects. From the National Rehabilitation Information Center.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A full-text database covering sports and sports medicine journals in subjects such as biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health and therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports and exercise psychology, coaching and education, and sports medicine.

Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations & Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to present day.

GSU Theses and Dissertations
GSU Theses and Dissertations (print versions pre-2004)
Click "manuscript" under the Format filter and enter your search terms as Title/Subject.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
An international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations.

More databases to try

Ageline This link opens in a new window
This database focuses exclusively on issues of aging and the population of people aged 50 years and older. Geared to professionals in aging-related fields, such as health care professionals, social workers, and caregivers, as well as consumers. Direct Opt Out Link
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) provides more than 370 nursing and allied health full-text, non-open access journals indexed in the CINAHL database. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

GreyNet
The goal of GreyNet is to facilitate dialog, research, and communication between persons and organisations in the field of grey literature.
Hooked on Evidence
Must be APTA member. Hooked on Evidence is APTA's "grassroots" effort to develop a database containing current research evidence on the effectiveness of physical therapy interventions.
Meeting Abstracts via NLM Gateway
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
The National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
New York Academy of Medicine Grey Literature Report
The Grey Literature Report is a bimonthly publication of alerting readers to new grey literature in health services research and selected public health topics. All resources are added and indexed in our Online Catalog.
OpenGrey aka OpenSIGLE (Europe)
System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe contains 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature produced in Europe.

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo is unmatched as a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields across a host of academic disciplines.

TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Database Plus
Performs a simple search in more than 60 databases related to evidence-based medicine.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes citations from more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals in the sciences and social sciences. Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index.