Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Southern Labor Archives: Work n' Progress - Lessons and Stories: Lesson I: Fulton Bag and Cotton Mill Strike

Lesson I: The Fulton Bag and Cotton Mill Strike,1914-1915: A Structured Academic Controversy

For Teachers

  • Lesson Plan, parts 1, 2, and 3*
Student-Centered Inquiries

  • Student-Centered Inquiry I*: Propaganda as a Photographer's Tool; Consider three questions as you try to understand the images you are viewing, in order to determining the propaganda value of a photo
  • Student-Centered Inquiry II*: A Comparison of Jacob A. Riis's, Lewis Hine’s, and O Delight Smith's Photography;
    Compare photographs taken by O. Delight Smith during the Fulton Bag and Cotton Mill Strike to the child labor photographs taken by Jacob Riis and Lewis Hines
  • Student-Centered Inquiry III*: Developing Titles and Captions for Images from O. Delight Smith's Scrapbook; 
    Review sample titles and captions for O. Delight Smith’s photographs, and then try to create your own

* Download Lesson Plan, Student-Centered Inquiries, and documents below.

Documents and Images

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives
Southern Labor Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory