ABOUT WORK 'N' PROGRESS
Work 'n' Progress: Lessons and Stories in Southern Labor History is an online labor history curriculum program designed for middle and high school students. Teachers today have few curriculum materials available to teach about work and labor. Georgia State University Library's Special Collections Department, in collaboration with the College of Education's Middle/Secondary Instruction and Technology program, has created this on-line curriculum that offers educators the knowledge and materials to prepare students for the workplace, and teach labor history in the classroom.
Funded by the Joseph Jacobs Labor Fund, and supported by the resources of Georgia State University Library's Special Collections Department, Work 'n' Progress is specifically designed for 8th grade and 11th grade-level social studies instruction. However, teachers and researchers of all grades and all subjects can benefit from the digital historical resources and activities available through the Website.
ABOUT THE SOUTHERN LABOR ARCHIVES
Georgia State University Library's Southern Labor Archives, established in 1971, is dedicated to collecting, preserving and making available the documentary heritage of Southern workers and their unions, as well as that of workers and unions having an historic relationship to the region.
The largest accumulation of labor records in the Southeast, the Archives holdings include organizational records, pamphlets, periodicals, photographs, personal papers of labor leaders, oral histories, collective bargaining agreements, constitutions and bylaws, and convention proceedings from 1888 to the present. The Southern Labor Archives is the official repository for hundreds of local and regional union offices, as well as the national offices of:
as well as many other union offices and state federations of labor, including the Georgia State AFL-CIO.
Our holdings are particularly strong in the areas of the textile and clothing industry, furniture and wood products, machinery and aerospace, nursing, airline industry, communications industry and the history of union activities in the Southeast
QUESTIONS
The Southern Labor Archives, Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University Library welcomes your queries relating to the Work 'n' Progress online curriculum project. Contact Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University Library, for more information.
Information last updated in 2006; transferred from previous online format spring 2012. Not all lesson plans were complete. Only functional lesson plans and related information have been transferred as they were on the original website.
Special Collections and Archives
Southern Labor Archives
Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu
Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202
In Person:
Library South, 8th floor
