GSU Library Research Guides: Comparative Study of Mysticism: Subject Guide: Find Background Information

General Works

Mystics by William Harmless
Call Number: BV5082.3 .H37 2008
Located on Library North 5

ISBN: 9780195300383

Publication Date: 2007-12-19
Mystical Islam : an introduction to Sufism. by By Julian Baldick.
Call Number: BP188.5 .B35 1989
Location: Library North 5

ISBN: 0814711391

Examines the historical development of Sufism.
The mystics of Islam. by Reynold Alleyne Nicholson
Call Number: B745.M9 N6 1975
Location: Library North 5

ISBN: 0941532488

An introduction to the study of Islamic mysticism, which provides a broad outline of Sufism and the religious philosophy of Islam.
Jewish mysticism. by By Josehp Dan.
Call Number: BM723 .D365 1998
Location: Library North 5

ISBN: 0765760096

In four volumes. Include the origins of Jewish mysticism in the biblical, postbiblical, medieval periods, and modern periods, as well as the schools of Jewish mystics and their influences.
Christian mystics : their lives and legacies throughout the ages. by By Ursula King.
Call Number: BV5095.A1 K45 2001
Location: Library North 5

ISBN: 1587680122

Introduces sixty men and women whose mystical experiences transformed the times in which they lived.
Not of This World : A Treasury of Christian Mysticism by James S. Cutsinger (Editor)
Call Number: BV5082.3 .N68 2003
Located on Library North 5

ISBN: 0941532410

Publication Date: 2003-09-06

Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

The following online encyclopedias and dictionaries are available to you from both on- and off-campus. For off-campus access to library subscription resources, use your University logon and password at the prompt.

= Library subscription resource; requires campus ID and password login

= Free online resource

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Includes access to the following encyclopedias:
*Encyclopedia of Religion
*Encyclopedia of Buddhism
*Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
*Encyclopaedia Judaica
*Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
*New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
The Catholic Encyclopedia
Contains articles transcribed from the 1913 edition of the Catholic Encyclopedia. Old, yes, but many articles are still relevant and informative.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Encompassing over 5,000 A-Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines, Oxford Islamic Studies Online offers a multi-layered reference experience designed to provide a first stop for anyone needing information and context on Islam.

Print Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

The following print encyclopedias and dictionaries are just a few of the sources you will find in in the Reference Section on the 2nd floor of Library North. Please contact me if you need help finding additional reference resources for your research.

The HarperCollins Dictionary of Religion by American Academy Of Religion
Call Number: BL31 .H37 1995
Location: Atlanta Library North 5

ISBN: 0060675152

3200-plus alphabetically arranged articles on persons, holy days, rituals, deities, scriptures, etc.
The Encyclopedia of Religion by Mircea Eliade, Editor in chief
Call Number: Ref. BL31 .E46 1987
Location: Library North 2, Reference collection (Non-Circulating)

ISBN: 0028657330

Covers the ideas, practices, and persons in the religious experience of humankind from the Paleolithic past to our day.
Religions of the World: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices by J. Gordon Melton and Martin Baumann, Editors
Call Number: Ref. BL80.3 .R45 2002
Location: Library North 2, Reference collection (Non-Circulating)

ISBN: 1576072231

Details the history, development, organization, current status, and contact information for major organizations associated with various living world faiths. In 4 volumes.
New Catholic Encyclopedia by Catholic University of America
Call Number: BX841 .N44 2003
Location: Atlanta Library North 5

ISBN: 078764787X

In 15 volumes. The standard reference book for all questions Catholic
The Encyclopaedia of Islam. by Edited by P. J. Bearman.
Call Number: DS37 .E5 1960
Location: Library North 5

ISBN: 9004139745

Sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World.
Brill's encyclopedia of Hinduism
Call Number: BL1105 .B75 2009
Location: Atlanta Library North 5

ISBN: 9004176411

Presents the latest research on all the main aspects of the Hindu traditions.

Select Mystics

Augustine through the ages : an encyclopedia. by Edited by Alan Fitzgerald and John Cavadini
Call Number: B655.Z69 A84 1999
Location: Library North 5

ISBN: 0802864791

One volume encyclopedia on all things Augustine. Includes entries on Mysticism and Ostia.
Hildegard of Bingen, 1098-1179 : a visionary life. by By Sabina Flanagan.
Call Number: BX4700.H5 F54 1990
Location: Library North 5

ISBN: 0415185513

Twelth-century German writer, composer, philosopher, Christian mystic, and Benedictine abbess. Best known for three lengthy theological works, discussed in some detail here, that came about from her visionary experiences.
Rumi : a spiritual biography. by By Leslie Wines
Call Number: BP189.7.M42 W56 2000
Location: Library North 5

ISBN: 0824523520

Biography of the 13th century poet/mystic.
Julian of Norwich : mystic and theologian. by Grace Jantzen.
Call Number: BV5095.J84 J36 2000
Location: Library North 5

ISBN: 080913991X

Detailed study of the historical and theological issues that surround Julian and her writing.
The Mystical Theology of Meister Eckhart by Bernard McGinn
Call Number: BV5095.E3 M33 2001
Located on Library North 5.

ISBN: 0824519140
Florence Nightingale : Mystic, Visionary, Healer by Barbara Montgomery Dossey
Call Number: RT37.N5 D67 2000
Located on Library North 3

ISBN: 0874349842