Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key Article Databases
Links to articles on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Full-text articles from selected scholarly journals.
Interdisciplinary, full-text database.
Using Find It @GSU
Many databases give you only a citation telling you where to find the article, not the article itself.
This button is often a shortcut to the full article text in another database:
Click the Find It @GSU button to open a window with links to the article you need.
If that fails, try searching for the journal title in GIL-Find, or use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request it from another library.
Lost? Stuck? Too many options? Ask a Librarian for help, or contact your History Librarian!
Use keyword searching in relevant databases. Brainstorm different keywords for your topic and see what happens.
Use Boolean searching (AND, OR, NOT) to expand or narrow your searches.
Use the drop-down boxes in the database's Advanced Search to help you narrow or expand your search.
When you find a relevant item, click on the record and look for subject terms. Clicking on a subject term will bring up other related items.
Try your keywords and subject terms in other databases, and see what you find!
Keywords and Subject Terms
When searching databases, try Library of Congress subject terms as keywords.
Examples might be:
- Atlantic Ocean Region
- Slavery Atlantic Ocean Region
- Slave Trade Caribbean Area (or other country/region: France, Atlantic Ocean Region, United States)
- Cuba History
- Haiti History Revolution, 1794-1804
- Pirates Caribbean Area
- Blacks Caribbean Area History
- Slave Insurrections
- Spain Colonies America
And so on...