GSU Library Research Guides: Primary Sources: English Studies: Digital Collections

Notable Book Collections

These books from the 16th to the early 19th century are available in full text.

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
over 130,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800
Early American Imprints: Series I

Books Available Online

These digital collections include digital versions of many out-of-copyright works including government documents, and magazines and books published before 1923. Coverage can be spotty, but these sites are worth searching... just in case.

GoogleBooks
Full-text collection includes books in the public domain. Includes only snippets of books still under copyright unless otherwise specified by author or publisher. Also includes magazines and periodicals.
Project Gutenberg
Digital copies of books whose copyrights have expired.
Center for Research Libraries Digital Collections
Wide-ranging collection of digitized resources. Search the CRL's catalog, or browse the collection.
Hathi Trust
Multi-university-library digital library.
Internet Archive
Digital library, includes texts as well as moving images, live music, audio.

Digital Collections at GSU

Collections related to specific themes or subjects. These are GSU subscription resources requiring a campus ID and password for off-campus access.

Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs (1543-1945)
Books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. International in scope. Material in English, French, German and several other languages.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
Primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, Web site reviews, and teaching tools pertaining to the multiplicity of women's activism in public life.

Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures (1700 - present)
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Documents relating to Empire Studies, sourced from libraries and archives around the world. Each section features thematic essays that relate directly to the source material.
British History Online This link opens in a new window
Core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Includes Calendar of State Papers.
Making of Modern Law This link opens in a new window
Fulltext legal treatises from the US and England from 1800-1926.
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832 - 1978 This link opens in a new window
Approximately 150,000 Supreme Court cases are featured, the majority consisting of those for which the Court did not give a full opinion.

Digital Sanborn Maps
Our subscription provides coverage for the state of Georgia, 1867-1970.
iPoll
Includes data from national public opinion surveys since 1935.

More Databases

American Periodicals Series Online

Full text articles from 19th century American magazines.

Archive Finder

Search for special collections and archives in American libraries.

Humanities International Index

Find poetry and short fiction published in literary magazines.

Historical New York Times

Full text articles up to 2002.

19th Century Newspapers

A variety of full text articles from American 19th century newspapers.

See Databases A to Z for additional databases.

Web collections

American Memory - Library of Congress
digitized selections from the collections of the Library of Congress
Digital Library of Georgia
gateway to Georgia's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and other resources.
Documenting the American South
University of North Carolina digital publishing initiative that provides access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture, primarily from UNC's large collection.
Chronicling America: Historical American Papers
from the Library of Congress (selected papers covering 1789-1943)
New-York Historical Society: Manuscript Collections Relating to Slavery
Digital collection of diaries, account books, letter books, ships’ logs, indentures, bills of sale, personal papers, and records of institutions, relating to slavery and abolition.

Humanities Librarian

Leslie Madden

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Library South
Suite 542

404-413-2807

Subjects: Applied Linguistics and ESL, English, Philosophy, Religious Studies, World Languages & Cultures