GSU Library Research Guides: Legal and Constitutional History: Articles

Useful Journals

Click here for a full list of the secondary- and primary-source databases held by the GSU Library.

America: History and Life
Articles, books, and dissertations on U.S. & Canadian history (pre-history to the present).

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, and dissertations on world history since 1450 (excluding US and Canada).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of selected scholarly journals. Begins with first year of publication. Most recent 3-5 years are often not included. Does not offer option to search by subject.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Current full text issues of selected scholarly journals.

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides subject access to public policy issues of concern to governments, including economic, political, and social background information and statistics. International scope.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields.

Many databases give you only a citation telling you where to find the article, not the article itself.

This button is often a shortcut to the full article text in another database:

Click the Find It @GSU button to open a window with links to the article you need.

If that fails, try searching for the journal title in GIL-Find, or use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request it from another library.

Lost? Stuck? Too many options? Ask a Librarian for help, or contact your History Librarian!

When searching databases, try Library of Congress subject terms as keywords:

Constitutional History--United States
United States--Politics and government--1783-1809 (or other date ranges: do a subject search for United States--Politics and Government to find range)
United States. Supreme Court--History
United States. Fugitive slave law (1850)
Fugitive Slaves
Scott, Dred (or the name of another particular fugitive slave; for ex., Glover, Joshua)

Use keyword searching in relevant databases. Brainstorm different keywords for your topic and see what happens.

Use Boolean searching (AND, OR, NOT) to expand or narrow your searches.

Use the drop-down boxes in the database's Advanced Search to help you narrow or expand your search.

When you find a relevant item, click on the record and look for subject terms. Clicking on a subject term will bring up other related items.

Try your keywords and subject terms in other databases, and see what you find!