GSU Library Research Guides: Finance: Find Financial Data

Financial Statements Data

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Provides U.S. company data for over 15,000 public companies and their SEC filings, U.S. annual reports, plus international company data for approximately 17,000 companies, international annual reports, FactSheets, and country information

WRDS - Compustat modules
Domestic and international financial statement data. Large data sets may be downloaded into multiple formats.
more...less...
Must request an account via the request form on the database's home page. Accounts provided to faculty and doctoral students only. Some exceptions apply.

Annual Reports & SEC Filings

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Use Annual Report tab or the Edgar tab in the company profile to access historical annual reports or filings for public companies.

Earnings Estimates

WRDS - First Call module
Contains earnings information dating as far back as 1990, on over 9,700 securities.
more...less...
Must request an account via the request form on the database's home page. Accounts provided to faculty and doctoral students only. Some exceptions apply.
WRDS - IBES module
Provides both summary and individual analyst forecasts of company earnings, cash flows, and other important financial items, as well as buy-sell-hold recommendations.
more...less...
Must request an account via the request form on the database's home page. Accounts provided to faculty and doctoral students only. Some exceptions apply.

Financial Ratios

Key Business Ratio Collection (Archives) This link opens in a new window
Contains the Key Business Ratios archives; the file consisting of U.S. corporations, partnerships and proprietorships both public and privately owned, in all size ranges, and includes over 800 different lines of business as defined by the U.S. Standard industrial Classification (SIC) code numbers.
Key Business Ratios Online (KBR) This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to competitive benchmarking data. This tool examines industry benchmarks compiled from D&B's database of public and private companies and providing solvency, efficiency, and profitability ratios, and industry norms.

Institutional Investors

WRDS - Thomson Reuters module
Contains ownership information by institutional managers with $100 million or more in Assets Under Management.
more...less...
Must request an account via the request form on the database's home page. Accounts provided to faculty and doctoral students only. Some exceptions apply.

Mergers and Acquisitions

Bloomberg (must use Bloomberg Terminal available only on-campus) : (Bloomberg terminals is a computer system for professionals in business (primarily finance) and other industries to access, monitor and analyze real-time financial market data and place trades on its electronic trading platform. The system also provides up-to-date news, price quotes, and messaging across its network.)

Access your Bloomberg account
Type MA
Hit Go

Index, Commodities, and Options Data

WRDS - CBOE (Chicago Board Options Exchange) Indexes module
CBOE Volatility Index (VIX) is an up-to-the-minute market estimate of expected volatility that is calculated by using real-time S&P 500 (SPX) index option bid/ask quotes.
more...less...
Must request an account via the request form on the database's home page. Accounts provided to faculty and doctoral students only. Some exceptions apply.
WRDS - Dow Jones module
Covers the Dow Jones Averages and the Dow Jones Total Return Indexes.
more...less...
Must request an account via the request form on the database's home page. Accounts provided to faculty and doctoral students only. Some exceptions apply.
WRDS - Philadelphia Stock Exchange's United Currency Options Market (UCOM) module
Offers choice of expiration date, strike (exercise) price, premium payment and any combination of 10 currencies currently available for a total of 100 possible currency pairs.
more...less...
Must request an account via the request form on the database's home page. Accounts provided to faculty and doctoral students only. Some exceptions apply.

Stock Prices

Factiva This link opens in a new window
A business information and research tool used to locate information on a variety of topics, including politics, current events, trends and government data.
Provides limited access to Atlanta Business Chronicle. Login information is below.
Warning: Use of the Factiva service is restricted to reader access of the content for research and education purposes only. Text mining and analytics of the content is not permitted.
TO LOGIN TO FACTIVA
Go to: https://my.openathens.net/
Enter and select “Georgia State University Library” in the “Find My Institution” search box
The login information for Factiva will be displayed. If prompted, use the username and password provided.
NOTES:
- The Factiva link will not work if bookmarked. You must access via MyAthens each time.
- Our Factiva license is limited to 10 simultaneous users. If you see an error message indicating “username and password is already in use,” it means the maximum number of simultaneous users has been reached.
- When you have finished your research, please log out so that other users may access the system.

WRDS - CRSP Module
Security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX, and Nasdaq stock markets. Large data sets may be downloaded into multiple formats.
more...less...
Must request an account via the request form on the database's home page. Accounts provided to faculty and doctoral students only. Some exceptions apply.

Bond Prices

WRDS - TRACE module
Trade Reporting and Compliance Engine is FINRA's over-the-counter (OTC) corporate bond market real-time price dissemination service. Access historical data on publicly traded corporate bonds.
more...less...
Must request an account via the request form on the database's home page. Accounts provided to faculty and doctoral students only. Some exceptions apply.

Mutual Funds

WRDS - Mutual Fund Links (MFLINKS)
The MFLINKS tables provide a reliable means to join CRSP Mutual Fund (MFDB) data that covers mutual fund performance, expenses, and related information to equity holdings data in the TFN/CDA S12 datasets.
more...less...
Must request an account via the request form on the database's home page. Accounts provided to faculty and doctoral students only. Some exceptions apply.
WRDS - Thomson Reuters module
Thomson-Reuters Mutual Fund Holdings database provides security holding information for all registered mutual funds that report their holdings with the SEC, plus 3,000 global funds.
more...less...
Must request an account via the request form on the database's home page. Accounts provided to faculty and doctoral students only. Some exceptions apply.
WRDS CRSP module
The CRSP Mutual Funds Summary File provides characteristics of annual/quarterly/monthly frequency for open-ended mutual funds of all investment objectives.
more...less...
Must request an account via the request form on the database's home page. Accounts provided to faculty and doctoral students only. Some exceptions apply.