GSU Library Research Guides: Geography: Find Maps

Planning Atlanta Collection

Planning Atlanta: A New City in the Making, 1930s – 1990s

Planning Atlanta: A New City in the Making, 1930s – 1990s is a digital collection of material related to city planning and urban development in Atlanta. The collection consists of city planning maps, city planning publications, demographic data, photographs depicting planning activities, oral histories, and aerial photographs.

Print Maps at GSU

Sheet Maps and Atlases

Search GIL catalog for maps and atlases:

Search with Keyword/Subject: MAPS or ATLASES and place name

Sheet maps are held in Map Cases on Library South 4th Floor.
Atlases are primarily in the Library North 2nd Floor Atlas Collection and Reference Collection. Some oversized atlases are in the Folio/UltraFolio Section, Library South 5th Floor. Some normal-sized atlases are in the General Collection arranged by call number.

Digitized Maps of Atlanta and Georgia

1878 Atlanta Atlas
1930 Atlanta Atlas
Planning Atlanta: A New City in the Making, 1930s – 1990s (A large collection of city planning maps)
A collection of historical Atlanta city planning maps primarily from the City of Atlanta and the Atlanta Regional Commission. All maps have been georeferenced and can be viewed in Google Maps and Google Earth. Also, users can download GeoTIFF files and JPEG images of the maps.
Aerial Photographs of Atlanta, Georgia, 1949
Aerial Survey of Atlanta, Georgia, 1949 contains scanned images of 124 aerial photographs (43 x 80 cm, scale 1"= 200').
MARBL Historic Map Collection
A collection of digitized historical maps of Atlanta and Georgia from Emory Libraries.
Georgia's Virtual Vault
County, plat and other maps from the Georgia Archives.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps, 1867-1970 (GSU Login Required)
Digital Sanborn Maps provides GSU users with maps from Georgia cities from 1867 to the 1940s.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps, 1884-1922 (Public Access)
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps for Georgia Towns and Cities, 1884-1922 consists of 4,445 maps by the Sanborn Map Company depicting commercial, industrial, and residential areas for 133 municipalities.
Digital Library of Georgia - Maps

More Digital Maps and Atlases

American Memory Map Collections (Library of Congress)
The focus of Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection.
David Rumsey Map Collection
The historical map collection has over 22,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.
Harvard College Libraries Map Collection
The Harvard Map Collection Digital Maps Virtual Collection is a search engine for images of maps and atlases. This collection can be searched by title, author, subject or genre and every result will include a link to an on-line image.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Large collection of public domain country, city and thematic maps presented as gif or jpeg files, provided by the University of Texas.
USGS Topographic Maps

Interactive Maps

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to current and historical census data (back to 1790), demographic information, and interactive demographic maps that can be queried and manipulated.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics contains 100,00+ data variables covering demographic, historical census data from 1980, real estate, housing, employment, consumer spending, consumer behavior, health data and over 23 million businesses from D&B.
A mapping, analytics, and data visualization app with 100,000+ data variables, including demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, and the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Premium business directory providing access to over 30 million US business profiles. The MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset is also available, which includes data on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories, and detailed lifestyle data. The Claritas PRIZM Premier marketing segmentation system enables users to understand lifestyle characteristics of places or identify target market segments. Users also have access to the CDC PLACES health dataset that includes 27 diverse health measures, such as Health Outcomes, Prevention, Risk Behaviors, and Health Status. Data is largely available down to the block group level, and custom locations can be created. Users may log in as a Guest, or create an account to save their work.

Factbook eXplorer
The Factbook 2010 provides a broad selection of indicators, illustrating the demographic, economic, environmental and social developments, for each of the 31 member, and to the extent possible for countries that are in the process of accession to the OECD (Estonia, Israel, the Russian Federation and Slovenia).

Your Librarian

Imani Beverly

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Geosciences, Mathematics & Statistics, Physics & Astronomy