Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Journal and Newspaper Articles
If you are looking for geography articles, start with these databases. Remember that not every article in these databases will be scholarly nor will every article be available online.
If you can't find it online or in print in the library, submit an Interlibrary Loan request for the article.
Finding the Article Text
Article databases sometimes include the full article, and sometimes only have the citation that tells you when and where the article was published.
Often, if the article text isn't included along with the citation, you'll see this Find It @GSU button instead. Click the button to get a list of possible online sources for the article you want. You may get several links if we have the article on more than one site.
If we don't have the article online, search GIL for the journal title, just like you'd search for the title of a book. (Note: that's the journal title, not the article title.)
Science journals are on Library South 3rd floor, recent non-science journals are on Library North 1st floor, and older non-science journals are on Library North 3rd floor.
Journal Article Databases
Try these databases first:
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index as well as Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
GeoRef provides coverage in subject areas such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A full-text scientific databases offering journal articles and book chapters covering scientific, technical, and medical (STM) and social sciences research. Offers full-text articles, browsable tables of contents, article abstracts, and some titles have full-text coverage from the first volume to the present.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
The Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Wiley is an international scientific, technical, medical, and scholarly publisher.
More Journal Articles Databases
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals. The collection includes peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, and books, for STM research, the Social Sciences, Humanities, and other areas of academic studies. PDF content dates back as far as 1887.
These databases may also be useful:
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
This index covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Direct Opt Out Link
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for art scholars, artists, designers, college students, and researchers. Provides full text coverage for periodicals and books and indexing and abstracting for academic journals, magazines, trade publications, and books.
Direct Opt Out Link
Subject coverage includes:international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, occupational health, toxicology, health services, and maternal/child health.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It offers an interdisciplinary journal archive across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The archive offers an interlinked aggregation of scholarly works as well as long-term preservation.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
The PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more.
PolicyArchive This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research, collecting and disseminating summaries, full text, videos, reports, briefs, and multimedia materials of think tank, university, government, and foundation-funded policy research.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides complete, full-text content in digital humanities and social science from over 120 publishers. Scholarly journals from leading university presses and scholarly societies are indexed and peer-reviewed, and full-text access includes current content from over 400 titles.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting of international publications in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
USGS Publications Warehouse
Newspaper Articles Databases
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text of U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of several major U.S. and international newspapers such as The Atlanta Journal Constitution, The New York Times, and the Times of London.
Scholarly, Trade, and Popular Sources
Periodical is a term used to describe any publication that is published multiple times (periodically). Periodicals include materials such as popular magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers.
It is important to understand the difference between a popular and a scholarly periodical. When you are doing research, most of your sources should be scholarly.
Often popular periodicals are called magazines and scholarly periodicals are called journals. Many times it will be acceptable to use some popular material, but research papers should not be based solely on popular literature.
||Secondary discussion of someone else's research; may include personal narrative or opinion; general information, purpose is to entertain or inform.
||Current news, trends and products in a specific industry; practical information for professionals working in the field or industry.
||In-depth, primary account of original findings written by the researcher(s) or reviews of original research; very specific information, with the goal of scholarly communication.
||Author is frequently a journalist paid to write articles, may or may not have subject expertise.
||Author is usually a professional in the field, sometimes a journalist with subject expertise.
||Author's credentials are provided; usually a scholar or specialist with subject expertise.
||General public; the interested non-specialist.
||Professionals in the field; the interested non-specialist.
||Scholars, researchers, and students.
||Vocabulary in general usage; easily understandable to most readers.
||Specialized terminology or jargon of the field, but not as technical as a scholarly journal.
||Specialized terminology or jargon of the field; requires expertise in subject area.
||Graphs, charts and tables; lots of glossy advertisements and photographs.
||Photographs; some graphics and charts; advertisements targeted to professionals in the field.
||Graphs, charts, and tables; relatively few advertisements and glossy photographs.
|Layout & Organization
||Informal; may include non-standard formatting. May not present supporting evidence or a conclusion.
||Informal; articles organized like a journal or a newsletter. Evidence drawn from personal experience or common knowledge.
||Structured; includes the article abstract, goals and objectives, methodology, results (evidence), discussion, conclusion, and bibliography.
||Articles are evaluated by editorial staff, not experts in the field; edited for format and style.
||Articles are evaluated by editorial staff who may be experts in the field, not peer-reviewed*; edited for format and style.
||Articles are evaluated by peer-reviewers* or referees who are experts in the field; edited for content, format, and style.
||Rare. Little, if any, information about source materials is given.
||Occasional brief bibliographies, but not required.
||Required. Quotes and facts are verifiable.
||Each issue begins with page 1.
||Each issue generally begins with page 1.
||Page numbers are generally consecutive throughout the volume.
Based on Scholarly vs. Popular Materials by NCSU Library