Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching GIL and GIL-Find
Use GIL, GSU's library catalog, to find books in our library. The catalog also lists other materials in the library - including microfilm, dissertations, movies, music and special collections.
Try using these keywords with your search to turn up primary sources:
(image from http://www.wordle.net/)
What do primary sources do?
- Give you insight into what people at a moment in time thought, did, wrote about, cared about
- Provide evidence for your argument
Historians analyze primary sources in order to write secondary sources explaining historical events.
Selected Databases Available @ GSU
Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs This link opens in a new window
A cross-cultural resource for the study of women's history, its coverage spanning 1543 - 1945 from continental Europe, the US, the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand. Consists of two segments: The Periodical Series and the Monograph Language Series (comprised of monographs and pamphlets tracing suffragism, women's issues, and the history of organized movements).
History Vault: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century This link opens in a new window
Consists of primary source materials from ProQuest's University Publications of America (UPA) Collection. Black Freedom Struggle I consists of 37 collections of records from federal government agencies, and Black Freedom Struggle II consists of 36 personal papers and organizational records collections.
Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Life Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Articles and cover pages are fully indexed and advertisements are individually identified. Life Magazine Archive covers 20th-Century current events, politics and culture, including the history of business, advertising, and popular culture.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Focuses on how gender impacts perspectives on women's studies, men's studies, the transgender community, and historical changes in gender roles, covering topics such as sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the work place.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Offers four major library collections: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library. Note: Access is provided by the Georgia State University College of Law Library.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Contains full text content for LGBT journals, magazines, regional newspapers, monographs, and books. It includes relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies, an LGBT thesaurus, author supplied abstracts and keywords, and searchable cited references.
Formerly: LGBT Life with Full Text
Documenting the American South
A University of North Carolina Chapel Hill digital publishing initiative, providing Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.
Valley of the Shadow
University of Virginia digital project containing broad range of Civil War primary materials relating to two distinct communities, one in the North and one in the South.
Library of Congress American Memory
Broad range of primary sources available online.