Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 4990: Race and Masculinity (Perry/Fall 2020): Articles

About databases

The most efficient way to find articles on a topic is to search a database - you can search across many journals at once.

Many history databases also search additional types of secondary literature - book reviews, book chapters, dissertations, etc.

Each database searches different sources; usually you'll want to search several databases.

If you are off campus you will be prompted for your Campus ID/password.

Using Find It @GSU

Many databases give you only a citation telling you where to find the article, not the article itself.

There's often a shortcut to the full article text in another database!

Click the Find It @GSU button to open a window with links to the article you need.

If that fails, try searching for the journal title in GIL-Find, or use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request it from another library.

Lost? Stuck? Too many options? Ask a Librarian for help!

Essential History Databases

Start with these to find secondary source articles on your topic. For more databases, see related research guides or our A-Z database list.

For primary source (generally older) articles, consult the Primary Sources tab above.

Because History Can Get Interdisciplinary...

These databases focus on specific social-science disciplines. To search more broadly, try the databases in the "Interdisciplinary Articles Databases" box.

You can also use the dropdown "Find by Subject" box in the Articles / Databases tab to identify relevant databases by subject.

Subject-specific research guides can also help you find more databases for your topic.