Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These publications cover the most important sources for literature and language study year by year. Be aware that they may not be current.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (print 1920--1922, print 1923--1999)
American Literary Scholarship (print 1963--2000)
The Year’s Work in Critical and Cultural Theory (print 1991--2007, online 1996--present)
The Year's Work in English Studies (print 1919--2007, online 1996--present)
Indexes to Related Topics
Indexes may be available in print, online, or may be a reference book that lists citations to articles in magazines or newspapers or provides a list and description of these primary sources.
Humanities International Index - Contains bibliographic records from U.S. and international publications, covering journals, books, and other humanities reference sources such as original creative works.
The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900 - This print index provides researchers access to selected periodicals by subject.
Reader's Guide Retrospective, (1890-1982) - Provides a detailed account of US culture and history in a searchable database including articles from popular US magazines. It offers full coverage of the original paper volumes of the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature.
These databases provide citations (and some fulltext) to articles, book chapters, and more from the scholarly literature.
MLA International Bibliography
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Provides complete, full-text content in digital humanities and social science from over 120 publishers. Scholarly journals from leading university presses and scholarly societies are indexed and peer-reviewed, and full-text access includes current content from over 400 titles.
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It offers an interdisciplinary journal archive across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The archive offers an interlinked aggregation of scholarly works as well as long-term preservation.
Gale Literature Criticism
A literary criticism collection of multidisciplinary databases regarding modern and historical views on authors and works across regions, eras, and genres. University Library subscribes to: Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
Bibliography of American Literature
Compiled by Jacob Blanck and completed by Michael Winship and Virginia L. Smyers, the Bibliography of American Literature (9 vols, Yale University Press, 1955 – 1991) provides more than 37,000 records of the literary works of 281 American writers from the period of the Revolution to 1930.