Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Identifying the Industry
Industries are classified into one or more classification systems. The two main classification systems are SIC and NAICS. Many business databases allow you to search by these codes, so it can be very helpful if you know how to find them.
Companies will be assigned more than one industry code if they are operating in more than one line of business.
IBISWorld - Try this first!
IBISWorld is our most comprehensive source of industry level data. You can search for industry information by classification code, industry description or company name.
It also includes "Business Environment Reports" that offer short summaries of data and analysis on over 250 economic drivers, categorized in seven “environments” that surround the economy.
GSU subscribes to both the US and China modules.
IBISWorld U.S. Industry Research This link opens in a new window
Provides economic, demographic, and government data on American industries, updated three times per year. Each report offers key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, and major industry participants.
Select the "Login using SSO" button and enter your GSU email with @gsu.edu only.
Key Business Article Databases
Look for articles on your industry in some of our key business article databases.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive and diverse full text business database. Covers scholarly journals, working papers, newspapers, blogs, podcasts, websites, books, conference proceedings and papers, dissertations and theses, magazines, and newspapers from 1923 to the present.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides essential business news and information combined with content delivery tools and services to help users to make better business decisions.
Note: Warning: Use of the Factiva service is restricted to reader access of the content for research and education purposes only. Text mining and analytics of the content is not permitted.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Direct Opt Out Link
, Computer Information Systems
, Entrepreneurship and Innovation
, Health Administration
, Hospitality Administration
, Institute of Insight
, International Business
, Managerial Sciences
, Real Estate
, Risk Management & Insurance
The amount of information that's available on any given industry will vary depending on the age and size of the industry, among other factors.
If you can't find information on your industry consider the following strategies:
- Try looking for a broader industry category. Sofware publishing instead of smartphone apps, for example.
- Look for information on related, or similar industries.
- Find out who the main companies are in your industry and base your analysis on that information.
- Combine information from multiple industries. This can be particularly helpful for younger, emerging industries such as e-book publishing.