Use the following tutorials to learn more about how to locate articles in journal and other periodical sources.
A peer reviewed journal article is an article that has been reviewed and chosen for publication by the author's professional peers. These peers are scholars in the field, who sit on the editorial board of a journal which is usually published by a professional organization or a university press. Peer reviewed articles can also be known as scholarly or refereed articles.
Use the following databases to locate articles in scholarly journals specific to religious studies topics.
You may need to search the following non-religious studies subject databases to ensure that you are locating all of the relevant information on your topic. The following are just a few of the many subject-specific databases available to you through the library. To locate additional databases, consult the library's list of Databases by Subject.
Anthropology Plus is the worlds most comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology (social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.)
This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycInfo is unmatched as a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields across a host of academic disciplines.
This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracting and indexing of international relations and political science literature, covering articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers.
The following multi-discliplinary databases also contain scholarly articles pertinent to research in religious studies.
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It offers an interdisciplinary journal archive across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. PDF content dates back to 1887.
This database provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.
Newspapers:
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowNearly 120 years of coverage from Georgia's most influential newspaper. A comprehensive digital archive of local, state and national history.
Magazines:
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window1. For off-campus access, enter your Campus ID and Password at the prompt.
2. Use the Advanced Search option within the database you are using to achieve the best results.
3. Keep your search terms brief and concise.
4. Check your spelling. Library databases do not correct spelling errors.
5. If your first set of search terms doesn't retrieve any results, try using synonyms that describe your topic.
6. You can search for different forms of a word (different word endings of the same word), by typing the first few letters followed by an asterisk. Example:
7. Use double quotation marks around two or more words to search as a phrase. Example:
8. Use the connecting words AND and OR to narrow or broaden your search. Examples:
9. You can create more complex searches by using the words AND, OR, NOT, in combination with parentheses. Example:
10. If don’t see a full-text link (HTML full text or PDF), try clicking on the
button near the citation to the article. Clicking this button will check for full text availability outside of the database you are currently searching. A new window will open and if the full text is available you will see a Full Text Online link. Click on the link to access the full text of the article.
Ask a Librarian for help if you can't find what you need!
