GSU Library Research Guides: Eastern Religions & Philosophy: Subject Guide: Hinduism

Noteworthy Tites

The following books have been recently added to the library's collection.

Studying Hinduism : key concepts and methods by Edited by Sushil Mittal and Gene Thursby
Call Number: BL1108.2 .S78 2008
Location: Library North 5
ISBN: 0415301262
With a chapter by Kathryn McClymond of Georgia State University, Studying Hinduism is the result of cooperative work by accomplished specialists in several fields that include anthropology, art, comparative literature, history, philosophy, religious studies, and sociology.
Hermeneutics and Hindu thought : toward a fusion of horizons by Rita D. Sherma, Arvind Sharma, editors.
Call Number: BL1215.5 .H47 2008
Location: Library North 5
ISBN: 140208191X
"Essays in this volume reflect one or more of the following categories: (1) Examination of challenges and possibilities inherent in applying Western hermeneutics to Hindu traditions. (2) Critiques of certain heuristics used, historically, to understand Hindu traditions. (3) Elicitation of new hermeneutical paradigms from Hindu thought, to develop cross-cultural or dialogical hermeneutics." (Description from Amazon.com.)
Contemporary Hinduism : ritual, culture, and practice by Edited by Robin Rinehart.
Call Number: BL1202 .C66 2004
Location: Library North 5
ISBN: 1576079058
Provides an examination of the contemporary practices, beliefs, and issues of one of the world's oldest and most enduring religions, both within its Indian homeland and throughout the world. It covers caste, family life, and social status.
Hinduism and modernity by David Smith.
Call Number: BL1202 .S63 2003
Location: Library North 5
ISBN: 0631208623
This examination of Hinduism in the context of modernity will be of interest to all students of Hinduism, as well as to those interested in the sociology and history of religion.

Introduction

Hinduism is the world's oldest extant religion, with a billion followers, which makes it the world's third largest religion. Hinduism is a conglomeration of religious, philosophical, and cultural ideas and practices that originated in India, characterized by the belief in reincarnation, one absolute being of multiple manifestations, the law of cause and effect, following the path of righteousness, and the desire for liberation from the cycle of births and deaths.

The books and Web resources on this page should provide you with background information on your topic. To search for additional books or articles, click on the appropriate Tab at the top of the page.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks

The following are just a few of the man books on Hinduism in the Unviersity Library. For additional books, use the library's online catalog GIL-Find

Handbook of Hindu mythology by George M. Williams
Call Number: Ref. BL1105 .W55 2003
Location: Library North 2, Reference collection (Non-Circulating)
ISBN: 019533261X
"Offers an informative introduction to this dauntingly complex mythology of multifaceted deities, lengthy heroic tales, and arcane philosophies-all with a 3,000-year history of reinterpretations and adaptations." (Description from Amazon.com.)
Dictionary of Hindu lore and legend by Anna L. Dallapiccola
Call Number: Ref. BL1105 .D34 2002
Location: Atlanta Library North 5
ISBN: 0500284024
Offers brief alphabetical entries on all aspects of Hindu history, belief, and practice.
Historical Dictionary of Hinduism by Bruce M. Sullivan.
Call Number: BL1105 .S847 2011
Location: Library North 5
ISBN: 0810867648
Presents the Hindu religious tradition's major events, individuals, texts, sects, and concepts in the context of its historical development through various periods.
Encyclopedia of Eastern philosophy and religion : Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen by Ingrid Fischer-Schreiber, et al.
Call Number: BL1005 .L4813 1989
Location: Atlanta Library North 5
This encyclopedia offers a complete survey of the four major religious traditions of Asia.