GSU Library Research Guides: Eastern Religions & Philosophy: Subject Guide: Taoism

New & Noteworthy

An introduction to the philosophy and religion of Taoism : pathways to immortality by Jeaneane Fowler.
Call Number: BL1920 .F685 2005
Location: Library North 5

ISBN: 1845190866

Covers the history, philosophy, religion and science of Taoism.
The pristine Dao : metaphysics in early Daoist discourse by Thomas Michael.
Call Number: BL1920 .M53 2005
Location: Library North 5

ISBN: 0791464768

Argues that Daoism originated in a particular textual tradition distinct from Confucianism and other philosophical traditions of early China.
Ancestors and anxiety : Daoism and the birth of rebirth in China by Stephen R. Bokenkamp.
Call Number: BL1920 .B63 2007
Location: Library North 5

ISBN: 0520259882

"Steve Bokenkamp makes an innovative and unprecedented contribution to the study of Chinese concepts of the afterlife. It is a mature work of historical and literary scholarship that draws on a wide range of genres: revealed poetry, liturgies, ghost stories and anecdotes, historical sources, and other forms of literature."--Stephen F. Teiser, D.T. Suzuki Professor of Buddhist Studies, Princeton University

Introduction

Taoism, one of the major religions of China, is based on ancient philosophical works, primarily the Tao Te Ching,

The books and Web resources on this page should provide you with background information on your topic. To search for additional books or articles, click on the appropriate Tab at the top of the page.

Reference Sources

The encyclopedia of Taoism by Edited by Fabrizio Pregadio.
Call Number: BL1923 .E63 2007
Location: Atlanta Library North 5

ISBN: 0700712003

Provides an accurate overview of Taoist history, thought, and religion through a wide selection of topics. Entries are cross-referenced and provided with bibliographical data.
Historical dictionary of Taoism by Julian F. Pas
Call Number: Ref. BL1923 .P37 1998 - Library North 2, Reference collection (Non-Circulating)

ISBN: 0810833697

Covers both Taoist philosophy and Taoist religion. An introduction provides overall insight into Taoist development through the ages, while the dictionary itself is comprised of 275 entries that define Taoist concepts, scriptures, deities, practices, and personalities. Includes an extensive bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Eastern philosophy and religion : Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen by Ingrid Fischer-Schreiber, et al.
Call Number: BL1005 .L4813 1989
Location: Atlanta Library North 5

This encyclopedia offers a complete survey of the four major religious traditions of Asia.
Daoism handbook / by Livia Kohn
Call Number: BL1925 .D36 2000
Location: Library North 5

ISBN: 9004112081

Web Resources

Online Texts

Religious Studies Librarian

Leslie Madden

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Library South
Suite 542

404-413-2807

Subjects: Applied Linguistics and ESL, English, Philosophy, Religious Studies, World Languages & Cultures

Research Guides

Eastern Religions & Philosophy: Subject Guide: Taoism

New & Noteworthy

Introduction

Reference Sources

Web Resources

Online Texts

Religious Studies Librarian

Contact Us

University Library

Research

Services & Spaces

Special Collections

Giving to the Library

About

Research Guides

Eastern Religions & Philosophy: Subject Guide: Taoism

New & Noteworthy

Introduction

Reference Sources

Web Resources

Online Texts

Religious Studies Librarian

Contact Us

Social

University Library

Research

Services & Spaces

Special Collections

Giving to the Library

About