Skip to Main Content

Research Guides

English Literature

Resources for research in literature orginally published in English.

Finding Journals

How do I find key literature journals?

Browse the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Search the Library Catalog. Choose Advanced Search and then type a subject, such as victorian, and limit to Journals from the Format menu.
Browse journal lists by subject in databases such as Project Muse and JSTOR.

How do I find a journal if I have a citation?

Choose Journals from the drop down Discover menu on the Library homepage to search if the library has access to your journal.
If the journal is not available, go to the Interlibrary Loan page to request the journal article.

Finding Articles and Criticism

MLA International Bibliography
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations
JSTOR

A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It offers an interdisciplinary journal archive across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
Project Muse
Provides complete, full-text content in digital humanities and social science from over 120 publishers, Including scholarly journals from leading university presses and scholarly societies are indexed and peer-reviewed, and full-text access includes current content from over 400 titles
Literary Reference Source Plus
Formerly Literary Reference Center Plus. Provides users with information on authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.

Year's Works

These publications cover the most important sources for literature and language study year by year.

American Literary Scholarship, 1963--2022

The Year’s Work in Critical and Cultural Theory, 1991--

The Year's Work in English Studies, 1919--