Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Attaching Files to References
You can attach PDFs or other types of files to EndNote references. The simplest way to attach a file to a reference in your library is to do it manually. There are 3 basic ways of attaching a file manually.
- From the main EndNote window, right click on a reference and choose the File Attachments option to browse for and attach the file.
- Drag and drop a file from your computer into the reference.
- Open the reference editing window by double clicking on a reference. Scroll down to the File Attachments field and right click to attach the file.
You can import PDFs into your EndNote library. EndNote X4 and later can extract the reference information using its Digital Object Identifier (DOI). If the DOI is not present the PDF will be imported, but you will need to do manually enter the reference information into EndNote.
- Open your EndNote library and click File--> Import
- At this point you can opt to import a single PDF (choose File) or a folder of PDFs (choose Folder)
- From the ensuing Import File box choose the PDF (or folder of PDFs) you wish to import an use PDF as the Import Option:
Using Find Full Text
- Make sure your Find Full Text preferences are set up properly (see Find Full Text Preferences box on this page).
- Select the references for which you want the full text. Hold the shift key to select multiple references.
- Click the Find Full Text icon on the top of the EndNote window
- At the prompt, enter your CampusID and password and click "continue"
- The progress will be displayed in the bottom left side of the EndNote window
Note: The find full text feature will not be able to find and attach PDFs to all of your references. If you want PDFs attached to all of your references you will need to manually attach many of them.
Find Full Text Preferences
EndNote's Find Full Text tool will automatically search the web for PDF files of the references in your library. EndNote searches a few free resources, but it can also search GSU's subscription databases for PDFs.
To get the EndNote find full text feature to work with GSU library resources you will need to adjust some settings:
- From EndNote click Edit --> Preferences
- A window will open. Click on the Find Full Text option
- Enter the URLs in the appropriate fields:
- OpenURL path: http://galileo-usg-gsu-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/GSU/GSU_SP?
- Authenticate with URL:http://ezproxy.gsu.edu/login