Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Just Watch provides information about which streaming services have your movie or TV title, linking you to free or low-cost rentals for media.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand (Master Academic Collection) consists of 7,000 video titles in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, Science and United Newsreels. Note:
Not all mobile devices are supported. See list of supported devices
Why doctors are increasingly prescribing nature. (2019). Retrieved March 12, 2020, from Films On Demand.
"As rates of chronic disease among children have skyrocketed over the past few decades, pediatricians have increasingly looked for solutions beyond the clinic. Sometimes that means actually prescribing time outside. Special correspondent Cat Wise reports from Oakland on the medical evidence that indicates escaping modern urban life, even temporarily, can yield health dividends."
Public Health Acts. (2017). Retrieved March 12, 2020, from Films On Demand.
"The British government did not want to create laws regarding public health. Learn how the 1848 and 1875 Public Health Acts came into existence. Joseph Bazalgette revolutionized the sewer system in London after 'The Great Stink.'"
Inside Dharavi: Challenges of Rapid Urbanization. (2019). Retrieved March 12, 2020, from Films On Demand.
"Dharavi growth was unplanned; many residents have access to electricity, but cables create unsafe webs near buildings. Residents wait for water that flows for two hours from public stand pipes. People rely on community toilets."
Kanopy Streaming Video
Note: Some Kanopy titles are currently unavailable for viewing but might be available for purchase consideration. Click through to the video to fill out a request.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides students and faculty access to a large collection of documentaries and independent films in a wide variety of subjects. To access, select "Log in to GSU"
Tinworth, R. (Director). (2016). The Life Equation. Retrieved March 12, 2020, from Kanopy.
"Big Data is being used to analyze and determine healthcare options and billions of people are affected. But what, and who, is lost in the number crunching? Powerful computers crunch the numbers and choose interventions. But others question whether algorithms can truly capture the complexities of global health."
"TEDMED bridges the gap between science and the public by finding and sharing stories that inform, inspire, engage and provoke action across a broad, passionate community both inside and outside of health and medicine. TEDMED values inclusiveness, multi-disciplinary collaboration and diversity in its mission to catalyze a healthier world."
While many of these databases provide freely usable images, check copyright information and/or licensing restrictions carefully before using the images for public consumption. Cite or attribute what you do use appropriately.
||Advanced Search features in Google, Flickr and Yahoo image searches have License status selections, which allow you to search for re-usable images.
Images in the public domain OR have been granted creative commons status
HEAL (Health Education Assets Library)
Collection of freely accessible multimedia images from the International Association of Medical Science Educators (IAMSE).
Find CINAHL Images in the database, under the “More” pull-down menu.
NIH Image Bank
Contains images from the collections of the 27 Institutes and Centers that comprise the National Institutes of Health.
Open-i (Open Access Biomedical Images)
The Open-i project aims to provide next generation information retrieval services for biomedical articles from the full text collections such as PubMed Central.
NLM Images from the History of Medicine
Images from the History of Medicine provides access to nearly 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division of the U.S National Library of Medicine.
PHIL (Public Health Image Library)
Photographs, illustrations, multimedia files from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
from the Library of Congress
Over 1 million images: maps, art, diagrams, posters, objects and more.
DrStockPhoto.com provides royalty free stock photos and images. If you use less than 100 photos, no attribution is required.
Image * After
"Image*After is a large online free photo collection. You can download and use any image or texture from our site and use it in your own work, either personal or commercial."
Images and Maps from GALILEO
Part of the database offerings of GALILEO, Georgia's Virtual Library.
"This morgue file contains free high resolution digital stock photographs and reference images for either corporate or public use."
NYPL Digital Gallery
700,000 digitized images from the New York Public Library.
Public Domain Clip Art
Free public domain images.
Public Domain Images
Public domain images, royalty free stock photos, copyright friendly free images. Not copyrighted, no rights reserved. All pictures on this site are explicitly placed in the public domain, free for any personal or commercial use.