GSU Library Research Guides: **Health Policy &amp; Behavioral Sciences Resources (PHPB): Web Resources

Comprehensive Web Resources

NIH Office of Disease Prevention: Evidence-Based Practices & Programs
These federal resources can help you identify evidence-based disease prevention approaches that have the potential to impact public health. Each agency and organization listed below uses their own process to identify what is evidence-based but often a systematic review or a meta-analysis is used to evaluate the body of evidence in a given field.
NIH Office of Disease Prevention: Resources for Researchers
Search a library of federal tools and resources to help you develop and conduct prevention research projects. You’ll find data instruments, research findings, clinical practice guidelines, and examples of translating research into practice through public health programs, policies, and interventions.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Provides credible health information on data and statistics; diseases and conditions; emergencies and disasters; environmental health; healthy living; injury, violence and safety; life stages and populations; travelers' health; workplace safety and health; and more.
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Worksorce
Collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet.
World Health Organization (WHO)
A United Nations agency that provides health and disease information worldwide.

CDC - Global Vaccines and Immunization
CDC’s Global Immunization Division (GID) is involved in one of the most effective of all global public health missions—vaccination against deadly diseases.
Immunization Action Coalition
The Immunization Action Coalition (IAC) works to increase immunization rates and prevent disease by creating and distributing educational materials for health professionals and the public that enhance the delivery of safe and effective immunization services.
WHO - Immunization, Vaccines and Biologicals
The mission of our Department (Immunization, Vaccines and Biologicals) is the attainment of a world in which all people at risk are protected against vaccine-preventable diseases.

HuGE Navigator
Part of the CDC's Public Health Genomics and Precision Health Knowledge Base, HuGE Navigator provides access to a continuously updated knowledge base in human genome epidemiology, including information on population prevalence of genetic variants, gene-disease associations, gene-gene and gene- environment interactions, and evaluation of genetic tests.
CDC: Genomics & Precision Health
The Office of Public Health Genomics (OPHG) promotes the integration of genomics into public health research, policy, and practice to prevent disease and improve the health of all people.

Environmental Health and Toxicology (NLM)
A comprehensive toxicology and environmental health web site that includes includes links to databases, bibliographies, tutorials, and other scientific and consumer-oriented resources.
HazMap
An occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the health effects of exposure to chemicals and biologicals at work. Links jobs and hazardous tasks with occupational diseases and their symptoms.
TOXNET
[Retired Resource] Formerly databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. Now a listing out to other NLM products and services for the related information.

EthnoMed
Provides over 200 public health brochures available in 24 different languages. Note: Some of the brochures are dated. Check the creation date of each brochure's content; it is indicated on each link itself.
Genetics Home Reference
Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.
MedlinePlus
Service of the National Library of Medicine/National Institutes of Health that provides resources on common diseases and conditions, a medical encyclopedia and dictionary, directories for locating hospitals and doctors, information on prescription and non-prescription drugs, and more.
Choose My Plate
Provides comprehensive information on the new food plate designed by the USDA. The site includes tips and educational materials for promoting healthy eating, and a customizable plate.
RxList-The Internet Drug Index
This site has information about prescription and non-prescription drugs, herbs, and supplements, searchable by generic and brand name. It also has a useful pill identifier tool, information and slide shows about diseases and health topics, and a medical dictionary.
Tox Town
Information on chemical and environmental concerns is from the TOXNET and MedlinePlus resources of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), as well as other authoritative sources.