Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AAS 2010 Introduction to African American Studies - Perimeter College Spring 2020: Using the Discover Tool

A guide to resources on the impact of the Coronavirus/Covid 19 virus in the African American Community

Discover Tool

GSU has many research databases, including GALILEO databases. GALILEO is a collection of databases shared by libraries in the state of Georgia.  The Discover tool allows you to search many of these databases and the GSU catalog at one time. It can be a great place to start your research, but aware that it does not include all of GSU's databases.

Try the Discover Search here! If off campus, you will be prompted to enter the GALILEO password.
(You can use Discover without the password from the Library Homepage)

 

 

The DISCOVER tool allows you to search many, but not all, GALILEO databases and the library catalog at once.

Things you should know about the DISCOVER Tool:

  • It includes many formats, including ebooks, articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers, and streaming videos.
  • It is a good place for a quick start and for multi-disciplinary research.
  • It automatically searches within the full text of articles.
  • Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) are optional
  • It includes GIL-Find catalog resources, including books and DVDs.
  • Advanced Search allows you to narrow by subject area ("discipline") and easily create complex searches.

Why NOT to use the Discover Search (use individual databases instead):

  • To use  CQ Researcher, News & Newspapers and other ProQuest databases and others not included in Discover.
  • To use specialized search features in some databases (Examples: databases about literature, business, or medical topics.)
  • To limit your search results by...
    • subject (example: Literary Reference Center for literature)
    • format (example: Films on Demand for streaming videos)
    • scope (example: Consumer Health Complete for health articles aimed at non-medical professionals)