Skip to Main Content

Step by Step with Literary Reference Books - Handouts: Literary Reference Book Availability List

Learn to find both print and electronic, literary criticism, reference books and definitions for specialized, literary criticism and library terminology.

Literary Reference Book Availability List

Where to Go

Back to Step by Step with Literary Criticism Reference Books

Back to Handouts for You

Sources of Literature Criticism
Reference Books

Search Gale Literary Sources

Search Gale Virtual Resource Library

Search Bloom's Literature

Literary Reference Book Availability List

This page lists which literary research, reference eBooks and print items are available via GALILEO and on the shelves. It also explains how find them. Most, but not all, reference ebooks that handle literary criticism appear in the GIL-Find or in searches from the main, GALILEO page.

eBooks Available through Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

Except for a single print tile, click on the link and then choose a volume of one of the sets below to read/browse. If you are at home, make sure you are logged into GALILEO before you start.


Drama for Students Epics for Students
Literature and it's Times Non-Fiction Classics for Students
Novels for Students Poetry for Students
Shakespeare for Students Shakespeare's Characters for Students
Clarkston Ref. PR2989 .S53 1997
Short Stories for Students Twenty-first Century Drama -- The First Decade
Twenty-first Century Novels -- The First Decade

eBooks Available through Literature Criticism Online

Click on the link and then choose a volume of one of the sets below to read/browse. If you are at home, make sure you are logged into GALILEO before you start.

Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
Search withinall volumes. 		Contemporary Literary Criticism
Search within all volumes.
Drama Criticism
Search within all volumes. 		Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
Search within all volumes.
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
Search within all volumes. 		Poetry Criticism
Search within all volumes.
Shakespearean Criticism
Search within all volumes. 		Short Story Criticism
Search within all volumes.
Something About the Author Twentieth-Century Literary Critcism
Search within all volumes.
 

eBooks Available through Gale Literary Sources

Click on the link and then choose a volume of one of the sets below to read/browse. If you are at home, make sure you are logged into GALILEO before you start.

Contemporary Authors (all series)
Search within the results using the box on the right.		 Dictionary of Literary Biography

eBooks Available through Scribners Writers Series and other ebooks in Gale Literary Sources


Click on the link and then choose a volume of one of the sets below to read/browse. If you are at home, make sure you are logged into GALILEO before you start.

African American Writers African Writers
American Nature Writers American Writers: A Collection of Literary Biographies
Search within the results with the box on the right.
Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome Books of the Bible
British Writers
Search within the results with the box on the right. 		European Writers
Latin American Writers Latino and Latina Writers
Modern American Women Writers Mystery and Suspense Writers : The Literature of Crime, Detection, and Espionage
Poets American and British Science Fiction Writers: Critical Studies of the Major Authors from the Early Nineteenth Century to the Present Day
Supernatural Fiction Writers: Contemporary Fantasy and Horror World Poets

eBooks Available through eBooks on EBSCOHost and Academic eBooks on EBSCOHost

To read these, simply click on the link. If you are at home, make sure you are logged into GALILEO before you start.

The Art of Shakespeare's Sonnets The Ashgate Encyclopedia of Literary and Cinematic Monsters
Black American Prose Writers The Columbia Guide to Asian American Literature Since 1945
The Columbia Guide to Contemporary African American Fiction The Columbia Guide to South African Literature in English Since 1945
New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture: Volume 9 (Literature) Oxford Companion to African American Literature
Princeton Handbook of Poetic Terms Reader's Guide to Literature in English
Shakespeare's Legal Language: A Dictionary Where the Wild Books Are: A Guide to Ecofiction

eBooks Available through Ebook Central

To read these, simply click on the link. If you are at home, make sure you are logged into GALILEO before you start. Note: these links may NOT be persistent.

American Jewish Fiction: A JPS Guidexx Blackwell Guides to Literature: British and Irish Short Story Handbook
Blackwell Literature Handbooks: Crime Fiction Handbook Humanities Insights
The New Handbook of Literary Terms The Poetry Handbook
University of Minnesota: Pamphlets on American Writers

Print Literary Criticism Reference Books

Even though may of our reference books of literary criticism have migrated to GALILEO, quite a few still remain in print. This is a listing of those items by title. Note: most of these are older items.

Asian American Literature
PS153 .A84 A82 1999		 The Beat Generation: A Critical Companion
PS228 .B6 .Z58 2003
Black Literature Criticism: Excerpts of Criticism of Most Significant Works of Black Authors for 200 Years.
PS153 .N5 .B556 1992		 Contemporary Dramatists
PR737 .C57 1983
Contemporary Novelists
PR883 .C64 2001		 Contemporary Poets
PR603 .C6
Contemporary Southern Writers
PS261 .C569 1999		 Contemporary Women Poets
Poets PS151 .C67 1998
Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century
PN771 .E5 1999		 Gay & Lesbian Literature
PN56 .H57 .G36
Guide to French Literature
PQ41 .L48 1992		 Harlem Renaissance: A Gale Critical Companion
PS153 .N5 H245 2003
Hispanic Literature Criticism
PQ7081 .A1 .H573		 International Dictionary of Theatre: Playwrights
PN2035 .I58
Modern Japanese Writers
PL723 .M563 2001		 Native North American Literature
PS508 .I5 N38 1994
Reference Guide to Short Fiction
PN3373 .R36 1994		 Reference Guide to World Literature
PN524 .R44 2003
Twayne's Companion to Contemporary Literature in English
PS225 .T88 2002		 Twentieth-Century Romance and Historical Writers
PR888 .L69 T87 1990
Twentieth-Century Western Writers
PS271 .T84 1991		 World Literature Criticism
PN523 .W67 1992
World Writers in English
PR9080.5 .W67 2004