Skip to Main Content

Step by Step with Literary Reference Books - Handouts: Selected Sources about Film

Learn to find both print and electronic, literary criticism, reference books and definitions for specialized, literary criticism and library terminology.

Selected Sources for Researching Film

Where to Go

Also try Step by Step with Literary Criticism Articles

Back to Step by Step with Literary Reference Books

Return to Handouts for You

Sources of
Reference Books

Search Gale Virtual Resource Library

Selected Sources for Researching Film

General Works
1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die PN1998 .A16 2005
Cinema Year by Year REF PN1993.5.A1 C566 2000
The Film Encyclopedia, 4th ed. REF PN1993.45 .K34 2001
Film Facts REF PN1993.45 .S75
Halliwell’s Film Guide REF PN1993.45 .H27
Horizons of Cinema Ebook Central
International Film Guide REF PN1993 .I6428
International Motion Picture Almanac REF PN1993.3 .I55


Routledge Companion to Film History eBooks on EBSCOHost
Wisconsin Film Studies Ebook Central
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Theory
The Complete Film Dictionary REF PN1993.45 .K66 1997
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory REF PN1993.45 .C75 2001
Dictionary of African Filmmakers EBooks on EBSCOHost
Encyclopaedia of Indian Cinema REF PN1993.5 .I8 .R227 1999b
The Encyclopedia of Ethnic Groups in Hollywood REF PN1995.9 .M56 .M85 2003
Guide to British Cinema REF PN1993.5 .G7 .M327 2003
Historical Dictionary of African American Cinema PN1995.9 .N4 .B433
and also Reference
Screen World Presents the Encyclopedia of Hollywood Film Actors : From the Silent Era to 1965 REF PN1998.2 .M655 2003
World Film Locations Ebook Central
Film Directors and Actors
Directors and Their Films, 1895-1990 REF PN1998 .B85 1993
Encyclopedia of French Film Directors eBooks on EBSCOHost
Michael Singer’s Film Directors: A Complete Guide REF PN1998 .A2 .D568 1992
New Biographical Dictionary of Film REF PN1998.2 .T49 2002
North American Directors: A Walflower Guide REF PN1998.2 .C62 2002
Star Decades: American Culture/American Cinema Academic eBooks on EBSCOHost
Reviews and Criticism
Magill’s Cinema Annual REF PN1993.3 .M34
Magill’s Survey of Cinema, English Language Films, 1st series REF PN1993.45 .M3
Magill’s Survey of Cinema, English Language Films, 2nd series REF PN1993.45 .M32
Databases: All are available through GALILEO http://galileo.usg.edu
Academic Search Complete
ProQuest Central
Gale Literary Index
JSTOR
LexisNexis
Literature Resource Center
MLA International Bibliography
Internet Film Resources

Internet Movie Database http://www.imdb.com
This site bills itself as "the biggest, best, most award-winning movie site on the planet." It features: trailers, information on upcoming movies, some TV news, and reviews, as well as box office rankings.

Film Literature Index (citations only 1976-2001), http://webapp1.dlib.indiana.edu/fli/index.jsp
"The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles." This site does not include references from the last five to ten years.

TV Guide -- Most Popular Movies http://www.tvguide.com/movies/
Click on a movie's title for a detailed review, information about the cast, related celebrity news, and more. There is also a link to some movies on Hulu.

MovieFone http://www.moviefone.com
This site features movie reviews both for those films in theaters and those available on DVD. It also has interviews with celebrities, and trailers.

Movie Review Query Engine http://www.mrqe.com/
There is a searchable database of links to film reviews in popular newspapers and magazines as well as more specialized sources. You can follow the site's Flick Tweets at Flick Tweets.

Yahoo! Movies Coming Soon, https://www.yahoo.com/movies
This site offers information on movies that will appear in theaters soon. This site also offers links to see what films are playing locally. Note: Trailers for "coming soon" movies are near the top of the page.

Variety.com http://www.variety.com/
The web version of a popular and respected entertainment industry magazine. Variety's film production charts, and box office rankings, are available under the , Film, heading on the left, in the white area at the top of the page. Once inside Film, click the Reviews under the bright red heading to see revies of current films in their entirety.