*Political Science Subject Guide

This revised version has been expanded with 44 new essays, all written by respected post-Cold War scholars who bring the latest perspectives to their topics. General category coverage includes concepts and doctrines, policymaking, commerce and science, human rights and arms control.

An A-to-Z reference on all facets of American religion and politics, from the early days of the republic to the rise of the political power of the Christian Right. Over 600 entries cover key religious and political leaders, historical events, court cases, concepts and religious denominations.

Containing almost 200 entries from 'accountability' to the 'Westminster model' the Encyclopedia of Democratic Thought explores all the ideas that matter to democracy past, present and future. It is destined to become the first port-of-call for all students, teachers and researchers of political science interested in democratic ideas, democratic practice, and the quality of democratic governance. The Encyclopedia provides extensive coverage of all the key concepts of democratic thought written by a stellar team of distinguished international contributors. The Encyclopedia draws on every tradition of democratic thought, as well as developing new thinking, in order to provide full coverage of the key democratic concepts and engage with their practical implications for the conduct of democratic politics in the world today. In this way, it brings every kind of democratic thinking to bear on the challenges facing contemporary democracies and on the possibilities of the democratic future. The Encyclopedia is global in scope and responds in detail to the democratic revolution of recent decades. Referring both to the established democratic states of Western Europe, North America and Australasia, and to the recent democracies of Latin America, Eastern and Central Europe, Africa and Asia, classical democratic concerns are related to new democracies, and to important changes in the older democracies. Supplemented by full bibliographical information, extensive cross-referencing and suggestions for further reading, the Encyclopedia of Democratic Thought is a unique work of reference combining the expertise of many of the world's leading political scientists, political sociologists and political philosophers. It will be welcomed as an essential resource for both teaching and for independent study, and as a solid starting point both for further research and wider exploration.

This is a brand-new edition of the critically acclaimed Encyclopedia of Government and Politics which has been fully revised and updated to provide a systematic account of politics and political studies at the beginning of the new millennium. Providing a penetrating analysis of government and politics at a global, regional and nation-state level, the Encyclopedia assesses both traditional and contemporary approaches, and projects the paths of future research. The articles provide a degree of critical analysis far beyond a simple descriptive outline of the subject. Internationally respected contributors have been carefully selected to present contending approaches to related topics, both to clarify the political implications of the various methodologies and to enrich the portrayal of political life. With its expanded, revised and updated coverage, Encyclopedia of Government and Politics is more than ever an indispensable tool for students, teachers, professional analysts and policy-makers.

The study of international relations has changed rapidly in recent years. Firstly as a consequence of major political and economic changenbsp;- the end of the cold war and the fall of communism, the resurgence of nationalism, terrorism and forms of fundamentalism, globalizationnbsp;- and secondly, linked with these developments, because of the vitality of the discipline, with ongoing debates on the fundamental paradigms for the understanding of international relations and the emergence of the perspectives of feminism, postmodernism, constructivism and critical theory. The Routledge Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics provides a unique reference source for students and academics covering all aspects of global international relations and the contemporary discipline across IR's major subject divisions of diplomacy, military affairs, international political economy, and theory. Written by a distinguished group of international scholars, the Encyclopedia is largely comprised of substantial entries of more than 1,000 words, withnbsp;fifty major entries of 5,000 words on core contemporary topics. Each entry is fully cross-referenced and followed by a listing of complementary entries and a short bibliography for further reading. The whole is comprehensively indexed. There is no other resource of its kind and the Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics will be an extremely valuable addition to all libraries supporting teaching and research in the social sciences.

The Encyclopedia of Law and Society is the largest comprehensive and international treatment of the law and society field. With an Advisory Board of 62 members from 20 countries and six continents, the three volumes of this state-of-the-art resource represent interdisciplinary perspectives on law from sociology, criminology, cultural anthropology, political science, social psychology, and economics. By globalizing the Encyclopedia's coverage, American and international law and society will be better understood within its historical and comparative context.

The Encyclopedia is the only resource available that focuses exclusively on the expanding role of minorities in U.S. politics. Containing more than 2,000 entries, this two-volume set is divided into four distinct sections covering African Americans, Asian Americans, Latinos, and Native Americans. It makes a broad range of information readily accessible, including historical and contemporary biographies, descriptions of major events, and coverage of important legal decisions and organizations.

Nationalism has unexpectedly become a leading local and international force since the end of the Cold War. Long predicted to give way to pan-national or economic organizations, nationalism exerts its tremendous force on all continents and in a wide variety of ways. The Encyclopedia of Nationalism captures the aims and scope of this force through a wide-ranging examination of concepts, figures, movements, and events. It is the only encyclopedic study of nationalism available today.

A resource for students or general readers who want to know more about the major ideas, philosophies and concepts, both past and present, that have influenced and shaped civilization. With particular emphasis on the 20th century, the encyclopaedia contains over 400 fully cross-referenced entries that provide a survey of topics that have been crucial to the history of mankind, including the rise and fall of communism, the advent of feminism, and the advancement of democracy. Key concepts and controversial issues are clearly defined and analyzed, with examples from current events used to enhance readers' understanding of the ideas presented. Ideologies are not only considered within their historical context but are also related to contemporary politics. A chronology provides a linear presentation of the evolution of political thinking.

Although the distinction between the politics of the left and the right is commonly assumed in the media and in treatments of political science and history, the terms are used so loosely that the student and the general reader are often confused: What exactly are the terms left and right supposed to imply? This two-volume Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right contains over 450 articles on individuals, movements, political parties, and ideological principles, with those usually thought of as left in the left-hand volume (Volume 1), and those considered on the right in the right-hand volume (Volume 2). Key Themes Countries/Regions "Isms" Laws Political Issues Political Movements Political Parties People

This work is a comprehensive collection of cutting-edge scholarship on the economic, international business, political, legal, and environmental ramifications of globalization--one of the hottest topics of the day. International trade is as old as nations. During the last five decades, however, advances in technology and transportation have changed the scope and method of international trade. Disputes rage about the effects of these changes; advocates for different positions offer argument, but little factual or theoretical analysis. Globalization offers all the information readers need to sort out the arguments. Written with the highest degree of scholarship, intended for college students or working professionals, the encyclopedia provides both introductory material to broad economic, legal, political, and environmental theory, and in-depth analysis of how theory interacts with practice in the framework of global trade. A trader in New York can, in a matter of seconds, execute a billion-dollar currency transaction in Hong Kong. What does this transaction mean to New Yorkers, to residents of Hong Kong, and to the rest of the world? This book gives readers the tools to answer those questions. 100 A-Z entries covering the major issues of globalization Reproduces the founding documents for the World Trade Organization and other international trade organizations Maps of trade blocs and regional organizations such as the European Union, Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), and Mercado Común del Sur (MERCOSUR) Charts, figures, and graphs illustrating data trends and statistical information Includes contributions from more than 100 specialists in economics, law, business, and other applicable fields

Legal Systems of the World is the only comprehensive reference work that covers the legal systems of every nation on earth, every state in the Union, and every province of Canada. Legal Systems of the World: A Political, Social, and Cultural Encyclopedia is the only comprehensive reference work geared to the ordinary reader and legal scholar alike that answers these critical questions. From Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, this exhaustive four-volume set, with nearly 400 entries, explores the structure, operation, and history of legal and judicial systems in every country on earth, every state in the Union, and every province of Canada. That alone would make it a must-have for every library. But there's more. The international team of legal scholars assembled by Editor Herbert M. Kritzer, professor of political science and law at the University of Wisconsin, also analyzes transnational judicial bodies such as the World Court and the European Court of Human Rights, examines alternative legal systems from Roman to Islamic law, and explains universal legal institutions and concepts, from law schools to constitutional review. 400 A-Z entries on places from Scotland to Suriname, concepts and terms like legal realism and retribution, and key documents such as the Writ of Certiorari Entries by an international team of over 350 contributors Highly readable maps of every country in the world, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe Nearly 275 diagrams illustrating the legal structure of various states and countries A glossary of hundreds of key terms like "adversarialism" and "sharia"

The world has seen dramatic changes since the publication of the first edition of The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World in 1993. In the post-Cold War world, globalization now offers wealth and opportunities on a broader scale, as well as greater international harmony, but threatens toreinforce the advantage gap between wealthy and poor regions and intensify environmental degradation. Conflict and squalor--expressed in brutal brushfire wars, epidemics, and chronic underdevelopment--vie with equally dramatic accounts of growth and democracy associated with a liberal politicalorder and the global diffusion of trade, investment, and communications.Drawing on the breadth of the first edition, this major new edition reflects the changing world with a reassessment of many of the core themes of the Companion, and new articles on the people, concepts, and events that have shaped the world since 1993. The second edition includes biographies ofKofi Annan, Tony Blair, Bill Clinton, and Gerhard Schroder; articles on events such as the Rwandan Genocide and the war in Kosovo; and coverage of international trade developments such as NAFTA and the World Trade Organization. Eighty-seven of the 672 articles in the Second Edition are completelynew; most others are thoroughly revised.This edition also features a substantial new set of articles, a dozen essays on critical issues written by influential figures. Recognizing the importance of including varying viewpoints, the editors have commissioned these essays to provide an informed and often passionate debate oncontroversial topics. Discussions include Lani Guinier and Glenn Loury on Affirmative Action; Francis Fukuyama and Milton Fisk on the Limits of Liberal Democracy; and Lloyd Axworthy and John Bolton on the United Nations.The contributors discuss nearly every nation in the world, including extensive information on institutions, political parties, leaders, and the sources of political mobilization and conflict. The volume also includes biographies of more than seventy-five political leaders and thinkers who haveshaped the contemporary political world. Articles include detailed discussions of critical historical developments and events, concepts, international law, and organizations. The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World, Second Edition is an accessible, timely, thought-provoking, and comprehensivereference that captures the complexity and vitality of contemporary world affairs.

World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties, Fourth Edition provides the most comprehensive coverage available on the governments and political parties of the world's nations. Each country is described in terms of its system and organization of government, as well as the processes through which political parties or interests bring their influence to bear on government. Since the previous edition was published in 1999, new countries have formed and the government systems of others have changed completely. New parties and coalitions have altered the political landscape in many countries, and elections have taken place in most. Written by a team of political scientists and academic experts, the signed articles of this fourth edition reflect the most current information available. Each article includes a comprehensive list of further reading. Coverage includes: system of government; power and responsibilities of various government branches; the electoral system; the party system (origins, organizations, campaigning); major political parties (history, organizations, policy, membership, financing, leadership, prospects); minor political parties; other political forces; and national prospects.

Rake provides short profiles of Africa's leaders and their main challengers. It concentrates on the presidents and military rulers in power and those most likely to replace them. Each profile has a short assessment of the character and career followed by a comprehensive life history. This is told in strict chronological order, on a country by country basis. The essential facts about each leader are featured in bold type at the beginning of each biography--the leader's rank, date of birth, ethnicity, religion, and political party. More than a dry list of facts and dates, this volume includes insight, anecdote, comment, and a general assessment. The author has tried to show the part the leader has played in shaping the main events affecting his country during his time in office.

Now in its third edition, this is a bigger (more than 11,000 entries), updated (through late summer 2005) version of the 1989 original, covering the enormous kaleidoscope of changing political boundaries, names, and rulers of Africa. This exhaustive reference allows the user quickly to determine what happened in or to each country and when - changes of names, political systems, rulers, and so on. The term ""state"" is loosely defined to embrace, throughout the history of Africa, any area of land with recognized borders and evidence of a continuing governmental structure, almost always with a capital city. Entries give official name of country, dates during which it went by that name, location, capital, alternate names, including cross-references to previous and later incarnations, and a list of rulers with dates of power when known. A new table details AIDS in the African states.

Newly updated, this guide contains biographical information on approximately 9,000 of the most important US elected and appointed leaders. Organized for quick, easy reference, this is a guide for researchers, students, or anyone who needs names, dates, and other basic information on US leaders in one convenient source.

The 42 essays are arranged chronologically by administration. An Alphabetical List at the beginning of each volume helps readers find a particular entry.

Well-known Latin Americanist Alexander and his colleagues (some with reputations equal to that of their editor) provide information about Latin American and Caribbean leaders over the past two centuries. Choice This is a compiliation of biographical sketches of the most important political figures in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries in Latin America and the Caribbean. Each entry describes the subject's political significance as well as their career, family background, education, and relevant nonpolitical activities. Appendixes list the leaders according to country or territory, and provide a chronology of major events in the region from Haitian independence in 1804 to the present day. A general subject index completes the volume.

Designed to give any reader interested in modern history and politics a set of consistent summaries of the careers of the most active political figures, this Dictionary reflects the distinctive character of twentieth-century political life. Although its primary focus is on politicians, and particularly those who have held imporatant office in government or the major parties, the book also includes entries on many people who would not be regarded primarily as politicians. Among these are church leaders, media figures, civil servants, soldiers, scientists, trade unionists, businessmen, writers and the royal family. The dictionary does not aim to incude every politician who has held minor office, but by attempting a wider coverage than parliamentary or party politics it provides a biographical backcloth to the figures who participated in Britain′s world role, to the rise and fall of different political institutions in the twentieth century. The span of the volume reaches from the early twentieth century to the present, though it excludes certain figures whose main careers were made in the years before 1900. Some Irish political figures are included, although Irish political life is not treated comprehensively. The book contains photographs, guides to further reading and a full index.

This classic book on the Governors of Georgia is now available including the governorships of Zell Miller, Roy Barnes, and Sonny Perdue. Perfect for classroom use, this readable and reliable text is newly typeset and includes new photographs.

Recognized scholars from 15 countries offer rich political analyses of 71 European leaders chosen for the significant roles that they have played nationally, regionally, or internationally since 1945. Each in-depth political and intellectual biography assesses the leader's achievements and failures in historical context, key career moments, major allies and opponents and their impact, and the leader's interplay with different political institutions. The essays arranged alphabetically also give a few primary and secondary sources for further research. A short chronology and bibliographical essay on the subject of European political leadership and a full index further enhance this major reference designed for students, scholars, government officials, and journalists in political affairs, European studies, world history, and international relations. The essays arranged alphabetically also give a few primary and secondary sources for further research. A short chronology and bibliographical essay on the subject of European political leadership and a full index further enhance this major reference designed for undergraduates and graduate students and for scholars, government officials, and journalists in political affairs, European studies, world history, and international relations.

Who's Who in Political Revolutions is a brilliant new collection of accessible, illustrated profiles of more than 70 individuals from every corner of the world who through their actions, writings, and ideals shaped the course of history in revolutionary ways in the last 200 years. Who's Who in Political Revolutions is a perfect complement to the Encyclopedia of Political Revolutions as a reference for your library's circulating collection. Students and interested lay readers will find it valuable because it is: -- Accessible -- Lively writing plus a minimum of jargon and esoteric concepts allow the profile of each revolutionary leader to take shape and dimension. -- Authoritative -- Profiles and supporting essays are based on the acclaimed Encyclopedia of Political Revolutions, published by CQ under the editorial direction of the scholars in the field throughout the world and Professor Jack Goldstone, one of the leading experts on revolutions and revolutionaries. -- Abundantly Illustrated -- Nearly every profile includes a compelling picture of the revolutionary leader.

This major contribution to women's history and gender studies describes the individuals involved in the political activism of the women's movement in the UK, Europe, the Commonwealth, and the US. Cheryl Law highlights the importance of the ""lost"" period between 1914 and 1960. Divided into three sections--the First World War and the 1920s; the 1930s to the 1960s; and the 1960s to the present day--the book includes biographical portraits of the major female activists and details of the institutions and operational networks set up to extend the social, political, and economic rights of women.