Skip to main content

Special Collections and Archives: WSB Radio History: Resources

This guide chronicles the history of Atlanta's first radio station.

Resources

Manuscript Collections at Georgia State University:

WSB Radio Records, 1920-1985 (bulk 1960-1980) Photographs, sound recordings, artifacts, program logs, and other materials related to Atlanta's first radio station. (M004)

WSB Radio Program and Date Log Books (1922-1949) Log books include handwritten program notes, technical data, and information regarding dates and places of performances. (M004)

Frances L. Wallace Papers, 1903-1995 (bulk 1940-1991) Materials that document the life and career of the pianist and organist for WSB, WAGA, and WCON. (M182)

Jack Tarver Research Collection, 1955-1969 Recordings of WSB, WABE and WAOK radio programs assembled by the prominent newspaper columnist and publisher. (M187)

Don Naylor Papers, 1934-1970 Scrapbooks, sound recordings, correspondence and scripts from Mr. Naylor's service at WGST and WAGA radio and WAGA-TV in Atlanta. (M103)

Atlanta Country Music Collections Many of these musicians and performers appeared on WSB Radio during thier careers.

Periodicals Collection Variety of publication related to radio and popular music.

Georgia Radio Hall of Fame Collection (contact the archivist for more information)

WRAS Radio Collection (contact the archivist for more information)

Jim Wesley Papers (contact the archivist for more information)

WSB Radio Sheet Music Collection (contact the archivist for more information)

Photograph Collections at Georgia State University:

Nearly 600 images from the WSB Radio Records are in the Broadcasting Collections

Additional photographs are in the Lane Brothers Photographs and Atlanta Journal-Constitution Photographs Collections.

Exhibit:

History of Radio Broadcasting in Georgia

Manuscript Collections in other repositories:

WSB-TV and WSB Records, ca. 1968-1980 are held at the Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, University of Georgia.

WSB Records and Elmo Ellis Papers are available at the Manuscript, Archives, Rare Book Library, Emory University.

WSB-TV Records are housed in the Walter J. Brown Media Archives, University of Georgia.

Material on the 1962 Orly Airport plane crash, which carried mainly WSB workers, are available at The Atlanta History Center.

Internet Resources:

WSB Radio

Georgia Radio Hall of Fame

WSB Radio 90th Anniversary

Georgia Public Broadcasting "Voice of the South"

Museum of Broadcast Communications

American Radio History

Don't touch that dial!

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives
Popular Music and Culture Collection

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory