WSB Radio History: Bibliography

Books:

Bliss, Edward. Now the News: The Story of Broadcast Journalism. New York: Columbia University Press, 1991.

Chignell, Hugh. Key Concepts in Radio Studies. Los Angeles, Calif.: SAGE, 2009.

Cox, Jim. American Radio Networks: A History. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Co., 2009.

Daniel, Wayne W. Pickin' On Peachtree: A History of Country Music in Atlanta, Georgia. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1990.

Dunning, John. On the Air: The Encyclopedia of Old-time Radio. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.

Ellis, Elmo Israel. Opportunities in Broadcasting. Skokie, Ill.: VGM Career Horizons, 1977.

Godfrey, Donald G., and Frederic A Leigh. Historical Dictionary of American Radio. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1998.

Gomery, Douglas. A History of Broadcasting in the United States. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2008.

Hilliard, Robert L., and Michael C. Keith. The Broadcast Century and Beyond. 5th ed. Burlington, MA: Focal Press, 2010.

Reinsch, J. Leonard 1908-, and Elmo Israel Ellis. Radio Station Management. 2d rev. ed. New York: Harper, 1960.

Sies, Luther F. Encyclopedia of American Radio, 1920-1960. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 2000.

Welcome South, Brother: Fifty Years of Broadcasting At WSB, Atlanta, Georgia. Atlanta, Ga. :: Cox Broadcasting Corporation, 1974.

Special Collections and Archives
Music and Popular Culture Collections

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory