Special Collections and Archives: Georgia State University History: Building Timeline

Sparks Hall (1955)                         

President's Home (Purchased 1958; sold 1997)

Indian Creek Lodge (1960)  

Camp Student Center (1964)                   

Counseling Center (1966)                             

Courtland Building (1966)

Library (1966)

Business Administration Building (1968)

Pullen Library expanded (1968)

Art and Music Building (1970)  

Plaza (Phase 1) (1970/71)

General Classroom (1971); now Langdale Hall

Panthersville (1971)

Plaza expanded (Phase 2) (1972)

Physical Education Complex (1973)

Urban Life Center (1974)

Alumni Hall (acquired 1979, occupied 1982); now Dahlberg Hall

Title Building (1982)

Peachtree Center Avenue (1982)

Law School (1982)

Pullen Library South (1988)

Camp Student Center expanded as University Center (1988-89)

Alumni Hall expanded (1991)

Natural Science Center (1992)

Business Administration Building becomes Classroom South (1993)

NationsBank Building becomes School of Business Administration (1993)

Rialto Theater (1996)

President's Loft (1997--leased)

University Village (1996-2007)

Student Center (1998)

Recreation Center (2001)

Helen Aderhold Learning Center (2002)

University Lofts (2002)

University Commons (2007)

Freshman Hall (2009)

Parker H. Petit Science Center (a.k.a. Petit Science Teaching & Research Laboratory) (2010)

[see below for additional information]

Building Timeline
(Date of Acquisition, Construction, Renovation, Expansion)
1950 - 2010s

1910-1949

• [see "Timeline, 1910-Present"]

1950-1960

• Sparks Hall 33 Gilmer St. SE (1955)
• President's Home (Purchased 1958; sold 1997)
• Indian Creek Lodge (1960)

1961-1970

• Camp Student Center (1964)
• Counseling Center (1966)
• Courtland Building (1966)
• Library (1966)
• Business Administration Building (1968)
• Pullen Library expanded (1968)
• Art and Music Building (1970)

1971-1980

• Plaza (Phase 1) (1970/71)
• General Classroom (1971); Langdale Hall
• Panthersville (1971)
• Plaza expanded (Phase 2) (1972)
• Physical Education Complex (1973)
• Urban Life Center (1974)
• Alumni Hall (acquired 1979, occupied 1982); Dahlberg Hall

1981-1990

• Title Building (1982)
• Peachtree Center Avenue (1982)
• Law School (1982)
• Pullen Library South (1988)
• Camp Student Center expanded as University Center (1988-89)

1991-2000

• Alumni Hall expanded (1991)
• Natural Science Center (1992)
• One Park Place (GSU Foundation owns in 1992; GSU owns in 2009)
• Business Administration Building becomes Classroom South (1993)
• NationsBank Building becomes School of Business Administration (1993)
• Rialto Theater (1996) [GSU owns the improvements, not the building]
• President's Loft (1997--leased)
• University Village (1996-2007)
• Student Center (1998)

2001-2009

• Recreation Center (2001)
• Helen Aderhold Learning Center (2002)
• University Lofts (2002)
• University Commons (2007)
  Citizens Trust Building (2007)
  Alpharetta (North Metro Phase II) (2008)
  246 Edgewood (2008)
  92 Piedmont (2008)
• Freshman Hall (2009)
  188 Martin Luther King (football facility) (2009)

• Parker H. Petit Science Center (a.k.a. Petit Science Teaching & Research Laboratory) (2010)
  175 Piedmont (2010)
  Greek housing (2010)
  89 Park Place [future home of Law & Business schools] (2011)
  Classroom South expansion (2011)
  315 Irwin Street (student recreation fields) (2012)
  Suntrust Complex [pending]

Special Collections and Archives

University Archives

Blogs About University History

Blogs About University Centennial

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory