Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and Archives: Georgia State University History: Logos, Colors, & Mascots

A guide to the history of Georgia State University.

Symbols, Seals, Logos

1933-1935

1933-1935

1940 night

1940- (night)

1940 day

1940- (day division)

1947-1955

1947-1955

1964-1969

1964-1969

1965-1969

1965-1969

1986-1989

1986-1989

1987-1988

1987-1988

Coat of Arms

University Coat of Arms, September 20, 1968

1990      1995

1990-present                                           1995-present

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

University Archives

Blogs About University History

Blogs About University Centennial

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory

School Colors

1913-1932: Georgia Tech's colors

1933-1946: Red and White

1947-1954: University of Georgia's Colors

1955-1956: no official colors

1957-1989: Red and Gray

1990-1991: Red, Blue, and White

1995-Present: Blue and White (with Red, and later Gray and Red, accents)

Team Names & Mascots

1913-1939: none known

1940-1946: Owls

1947-1955: Ramblers

1956-Present: Panthers

1989: "Urbie" was created

1993: "Pounce" was created

2009: "Pounce" makeover