Skip to main content

Johnny Mercer: Resources

A guide to one of the most prominent figures of 20th century American popular music.

Resources

Manuscript CollectionsSheet Music Cover

Johnny Mercer Papers, 1885-1981 Materials from Mercer’s personal papers include an unpublished autobiography, correspondence, draft lyrics and music, scripts, programs and reviews for shows and films, awards and artifacts. (M001)

Johnny and Ginger Mercer Papers, 1925-ca. 1992 (bulk 1935-1960) Additional materials relating to the personal lives of both Johnny and his wife, Ginger Mercer, as well as Johnny’s professional career. (M002)

Ginger Mercer Collection, ca. 1960-1982 Johnny Mercer related artifacts including sailor caps, shako, and a framed book jacket. (M003)

Steve Allen Collection, 1980 Lead sheet and lyrics for the song "Your Wife is the Love of My Life." (M122)

American Songwriters Series and Johnny Mercer Postal Stamp Memorabilia Collection, 1996. Memorabilia from the celebrations surrounding the issue of the Johnny Mercer stamp. (M137)

Bing Crosby Show Videotape Collection, ca. 1958-1962 Seven broadcasts of The Bing Crosby Show. (M102)

Joan Clarke Collection, ca. 1940-1987 Video tape of the 1951 television program "The Name's the Same" featuring Johnny Mercer. (M172)

Come Rain or Come Shine Collection, 1997 Script, programs, and reviews for the show Come Rain or Come Shine: The Song of Johnny Mercer. (M152)

Ervin Drake Collection, 1946 One recording of "No Restricted Signs in Heaven" sung by the Golden Gate Quartet. (M142)

Georgia State University Mercer Stamp Celebration Collection, 1996. Photographs of the lobby at the Rialto Theater prior to the Mercer postal stamp celebration. (M124)

Leonora Gidlund Papers, 1983-1984 Research materials related to a thesis entitled, Johnny Mercer: Resources for the Study of an American Lyricist. (M030)

Vern Hansen Papers, 1934-2009 Correspondence, creative works, legal documents, and printed material that document his career as an author and songwriter, especially his association with the Johnny Mercer.

Robert Kimball Collection, 1930-2008 Materials compiled by the musical theater historian as research for his co-edited book The Complete Lyrics of Johnny Mercer. (M227)

Gene Lees Papers, 1808-2004 Research materials used for a Johnny Mercer biography entitled, Portrait of Johnny: The Life of John Herndon Mercer. (M060)

Harry Mackenzie Collection, 1992 An unpublished manuscript about The Johnny Mercer Chesterfield Music Shop radio show. (M058)

Nick Mamalakis Papers, 1956-1999 Material relating to Johnny Mercer collected by a friend of the Mercer family. (M034)

Hugh Mercer, Jr. Collection, 1937-ca. 1973 Correspondence and a dedication address for the George A. Mercer Junior High School from the files of Johnny Mercer’s nephew. (M145)

Johnny Mercer Box Office Dedication, 2001 Memorabilia from the dedication of the Johnny Mercer Box Office at the McCallum Theatre in Palm Desert, California. (M140)

Johnny Mercer Contracts Collection, 1939; 1952-1978 Contracts and copyright assignments signed by Johnny Mercer. (M212)

The Johnny Mercer Foundation Records. Documents the activities conducted by the non-profit organization. (M141) [contact the archivist for more information]

Johnny Mercer "Mike" Audio Collection, ca. 1967 Mercer’s demo sound recordings for the unproduced musical "Mike." (M210)

Johnny Mercer Paintings Reproduction Collection, 1947; 1965-1966 Images of 24 watercolor paintings by Johnny Mercer. (M211)

Johnny Mercer: The Dream's On Me Collection. Consists of audio-visual and print materials utilized in the production of the 2009 documentary film. (M213) [contact the archivist for more information]

"Mostly Mercer" Concert Photographs Collection, 1994 Five photographs from the Georgia State University “Mostly Mercer” concert and reception, featuring Margaret Whiting. (M123)

Ober Family Papers, 1952-2000 Materials documenting the long friendship between the Ober and Mercer families in Newport Beach, California. (M157)

Geoffrey Parker Collection, 1946-1977 Material relating to Johnny Mercer collected by former Georgia State University Professor. (M007)

John and Seymour Rennolds Collection, 1933-ca. 1992 Materials gathered by collectors of Johnny Mercer and popular music. (M135)

Georgia Roux Photograph Collection, undated Four photographs of the Mercer family summer home at Vernon View, Savannah, Georgia. (M180)

Charles S. Tigerman Papers, 1975-1995 Contains legal documents and notes related to the copyright of Johnny Mercer's songs and the estate of his widow, Ginger Mercer. (M214)

Windell M. Smith Papers, ca. 1960 A single sheet of lyrics that Johnny Mercer provided to Savannah Boy Scout Troup 60 for a trip to the Boy Scout Jamboree. (M186)

Sadie Vimmerstedt Papers, 1959-ca. 1970 Correspondence and materials related to the writing of the song “I Wanna Be Around.” (M065)

Other Materials and Resources

Oral History Interviews
Interviews with friends, family, and colleagues of Johnny Mercer.

Photographs
Online collection containing over 1,300 images related to the life and career of Johnny and Ginger Mercer.

Song Database
Database of nearly 1,400 published and unpublished songs by Johnny Mercer with information pertaining to associated films and theatrical productions.

Discography Database
Database of recordings by Johnny Mercer as a vocalist.

Sheet Music Database
Database of published sheet music from the popular music genre.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives
Popular Music and Culture Collection
Johnny Mercer Collection

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory

Collection Overview

Georgia Hidden Treasures
WSB-TV's "Georgia Hidden Treasures" feature on the Johnny Mercer collection.