Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Johnny Mercer: Bibliography

A guide to one of the most prominent figures of 20th century American popular music.

Bibliography

Books and Articles:

Eskew, Glenn T. Johnny Mercer: Southern Songwriter for the World. Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, 2013.

Ewen, David. “Songs with the Blues – II: Harold Arlen (and E. Y. Harburg and Johnny Mercer).” Great Men of American Popular Song. Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice-Hall, 1970.

Furia, Philip. Skylark: The Life and Times of Johnny Mercer. New York: St. Martin's Press, 2003.

Furia, Philip. “Midnight Sun: Johnny Mercer.” The Poets of Tin Pan Alley: A History of America's Great Lyricists. New York: Oxford University Press, 1990. 

Grein, Paul., and Inc Capitol Records. Capitol Records Fiftieth Anniversary, 1942-1992. Limited ed. Hollywood, Calif.: Capitol Records, 1992.

Hansen, Vern. “Skylark, Have You Anything to Say to Me?” Down Beat 2 Dec. 1976: 41+.

Gottlieb, Robert, and Robert Kimball. “Johnny Mercer.” Reading Lyrics. New York: Pantheon Books, 2000.

Lees, Gene. Portrait of Johnny: The Life of John Herndon Mercer. New York: Pantheon Books, 2004.

Lees, Gene. “Roses in the Morning – Johnny Mercer.” Singers and the Song. New York: Oxford University Press, 1987.

Lees, Gene. “The Shaping of Johnny Mercer.” Jazzletter June-Oct. 1999.

Mercer, Johnny. The Johnny Mercer Centennial Sheet Music Collection. Van Nuys, CA: Alfred, 2011. Musical Score.

Mercer, Johnny. Too Marvelous for Words: The Magic of Johnny Mercer. Secaucus, N.J.: Warner Bros. Publications, 1985. Musical Score. 

Mercer, Johnny, Bob Bach, and Ginger Mercer. Johnny Mercer: The Life, Times, and Song Lyrics of Our Huckleberry Friend. Atlanta, Ga.: Cherokee Pub., 2009.

Mercer, Johnny, and Robert Kimball. The Complete Lyrics of Johnny Mercer. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2009.

Miller, Zell. “Johnny Mercer.” They Heard Georgia Singing: Great Georgians, Volume 2. Franklin Springs, Ga.: Advocate Press, 1984.

Phillips, Joseph. “Johnny Mercer Pays a Debt.” Reader’s Digest Feb. 1956: 82-86.

Sheed, Wilfrid. “Bless Yore Beautiful Hide.” Gentleman’s Quarterly Sept. 1998: 241-50.

“Why Song-Writing Johnny Gave Away $300,000.” Atlanta Journal 14 Aug. 1955: 10.

Wilk, Max. “’Moon River’ (Johnny Mercer).” They're Playing Our Song: From Jerome Kern to Stephen Sondheim - the Stories Behind the Words and Music of Two Generations. [1st ed.]. New York: Atheneum, 1973.

Zinsser, William. “From Natchez to Mobile, from Memphis to St. Joe.” The American Scholar Spring 1994: 259-66.

Thesis:

Gidlund, Leonora, and William Russell Pullen Library. Special Collections Dept. Johnny Mercer: Resources for the Study of an American Lyricist. 1984.

Documentary Film:

Ricker, Bruce, et al. Clint Eastwood Presents Johnny Mercer: The Dream's On Me. Two-disc special ed. Burbank, Calif.: Distributed by Warner Home Video, 2009. Video.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives
Music and Radio Broadcasting Collections

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory