Skip to main content

Special Collections and Archives: Johnny Mercer: Symposium

A guide to one of the most prominent figures of 20th century American popular music.

Popular Music in the Mercer Era, 1910-1970

In recognition of the centennial of songwriter Johnny Mercer's birth, Georgia State University's Special Collections and Archives Department, which houses the Johnny Mercer Papers, was pleased to present a scholarly symposium titled "Popular Music in the Mercer Era, 1910-1970." This two-day event was an exploration of 20th century popular music, and featured presentations by internationally renowned scholars that provided insight into Johnny Mercer and the popular music of his era. The symposium included fourteen speakers and was divided into four sessions: American Popular Music and the South, Influence and Interpretation of Popular Music, American Popular Music Goes Country, and American Popular Music in Film.

By highlighting Mercer and the music of his era, this event continued Georgia State University's educational outreach programs. Such scholarly activities present Mercer's legacy and music to the academy, specialists, and the general public. "Popular Music in the Mercer Era, 1910-1970" was made possible through generous support from the Johnny Mercer Foundation.

Proceedings and video footage from this event can be found in ScholarWorks @ Georgia State University.

Coordinator: Mr. Kevin S. Fleming
Moderator: Dr. Glenn T. Eskew

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives
Popular Music and Culture Collection
Johnny Mercer Collection

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory