Skip to main content

Special Collections and Archives: Johnny Mercer: Exhibit

A guide to one of the most prominent figures of 20th century American popular music.

The Bard From Savannah

A permanent Johnny Mercer exhibit is located on the first floor of The University Library North on the Georgia State University campus. The exhibit was mounted in 1999 in honor of the life and career of songwriter Johnny Mercer (1909-1976), and was made possible by generous funding from The Johnny Mercer Foundation, an organization founded by Mercer's widow, Ginger Mercer.

The exhibit includes a restored 1946 Wulitzer Jukebox with a selection of Johnny Mercer songs, a theater kiosk showing the Emmy-nominated documentary Johnny Mercer: The Dream's On Me, replications of materials from the Johnny Mercer Collections highlighting his career as a songwriter, performer and co-founder of Capitol Records, as well as items related to his family and wife Ginger Mercer.

The exhibit is open to the public during regular business hours, 8:30 a.m. - 5:15 p.m. Monday - Friday; it is closed on university holidays and operates on reduced hours during university semester breaks; contact the Popular Music and Culture Archivist if you would like to visit the exhibit during weekend hours. Admission is free.

Call (404) 413-2880 or e-mail the Popular Music and Culture Archivist for additional information.

Jukebox and Capitol Records      

      1946 Wulitzer Jukebox and Capitol Records Display                                        Songwriter Display

     

                    Performer Display                                                   Ginger Mercer Display and Theater Kiosk

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives
Popular Music and Culture Collection
Johnny Mercer Collection

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory