Skip to main content

Public Management & Policy: Articles

Search tips and research resources for topics related to management in the public sector and public policy. Also includes resources for citing sources.

General tutorials

Hover your cursor over these links for a brief description of each tutorial.

Getting the full article

1) First, look for a direct link to the article. Specifically, look for links that say "HTML Full Text" or "PDF Full Text."

2) If you don't see one of these links, look for a button next to article you want. Clicking this button will check for full text availability outside of the database you are currently searching. A new window will open and depending on what full text formats are available through the Library, you will be see several link options:

Full Text Online
Means that electronic full text of the article is available from one of GSU Library's full text providers. Click this link to proceed to full text provider's site where you will look for PDF link to article. If you are off campus, you will probably be asked for your CampusID/password. Once on the full text provider site, you may need to "drill down" to specific volume/issue to access full text.

We May Have a Copy in Print
If this link appears as the first option, then no electronic full text is available. However, the library may have a print copy of the article. Clicking this link will search the GSU Library catalog, GIL, to see if the library owns any print volumes of the journal in which the article is published. If so, you will need to check the Recent Issues or Volumes Owned fields to see what volumes/issues are available.

Request This Item Through Interlibrary Loan
If neither electronic nor print access is available at GSU Library, you can click this link to access Illiad, GSU Library's system for requesting articles (and other materials) from other libraries. This service is free for GSU students/employees.

Occasionally, people encounter problems trying to access articles from home using the "Find It @ GSU" button. Sometimes pop-up blockers prevent the "Find It" window from opening, so check your browser settings. Additional information on the "Find It @ GSU" button feature can be found here.

Ask a librarian for help if you can't find what you need!

About finding articles

The most efficient way to find articles on a topic is to search a database, which allows you to search for articles from hundreds of journals at once.

Each database searches different sets of journals, so usually you'll want to search several databases.

See "Getting the full article" box (bottom left) to learn how to access available full text articles.

All of the databases listed below are accessible from off campus. Off-campus users will be prompted for their Campus ID/password.

Databases

Use the following databases to find articles written on public management/policy topics.
 
ABI/INFORM Complete (at ProQuest)
Indexes U.S. and international articles in business and management, including public sector.
 
Multidisciplinary database that indexes articles, books, newspapers, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
 
Scholarly business database that covers private and public sector topics including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.
 
EconLit
Indexes articles, books, and dissertations covering economics-related topics.
 
Search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
 
PAIS stands for Public Affairs Information Service. International public policy/public affairs information relevant to researchers, students, administrators, legislators, and business and financial decision-makers.
 
Research Library (at ProQuest)
Multidisciplinary database that indexes scholarly journals and general magazines.
 
Covers international journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
 
 
 
 

Additional databases

See the Government Information tab above for additional resources on policy or legal issues.

Also refer to other subject-specific LibGuides for other databases that cover common public management and policy topics, such as Criminal Justice, Education Policy Studies, Health, and Social Work.

Is my article peer-reviewed?

Not all published material has the same credibility. Peer-reviewed articles have more authority because they have been scrutinized and approved by scholars in a particular field. Peer-reviewed articles/journals are sometimes called "refereed" articles/journals. To learn more about peer-reviewed sources, see this tutorial.

 

There are several ways to identify peer-reviewed articles:

 

Limit database searches to only peer-reviewed articles
When searching for articles in databases, look for a search option for limiting to only peer-reviewed articles. In EBSCOhost databases, look for this option on the bottom half of the Advanced Search screen.

 

Search Ulirch's Periodicals Directory
If you're ever unsure whether an article is peer-reviewed, you can look up the journal title in Ulirch's Periodicals Directory. Select Title (Exact) in the top right Quick Search box and enter the name of the journal. A referee jersey icon will appear next to the journal title if it is peer-reviewed.

 

Look for signs that it's peer-reviewed
Ulrich's Periodical Directory does not include every journal. If your journal is not in Ulrich's, the chart below can help you determine whether your article is peer-reviewed:

 

Popular Magazines/Newspapers 

Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Journals

Intended for a general audience; no special knowledge is required to understand the articles

Intended for an audience knowledgeable of the scholarly field

Articles are written by journalists with no special training in the field; usually the byline on the article only gives the name of the author; some articles do not even have an author listed

Articles are written by scholars, usually people with a graduate degree in the field; the author of each article is listed along with his or her position or credentials

Articles do not have footnotes or bibliographies

Articles have footnotes or bibliographies listing sources consulted by the author

The publication usually has advertising, color photographs, and glossy pages

There is little if any advertising or splashy photographs; usually printed on plain paper

Little editorial information; usually just the name of the editor-in-chief

A full editorial board is listed

Articles are not peer-reviewed

Articles are peer-reviewed. Peer review is a process where the editor of a publication sends copies of a submitted article to experts in the field for their judgment on whether the article is sound and should be published as is, changed, or rejected.

Usually for profit

Often not for profit

Librarian - Asst Prof

La Loria Konata's picture
La Loria Konata
Contact:
La Loria Konata
Library South, 542
404.413.2802
Website