Skip to main content

English Literature: Primary Sources

Resources for research in literature orginally published in English.

Digitized Primary-Source Book Collections

* * * * * * *

* * * * * * *

* * * * * * *

Curious about the Text Creation Partnership and its projects? Learn more here!

Books Available Online

These online collections include digital versions of many out-of-copyright works including government documents, historical magazines and other periodicals, and books published before 1923. Coverage can be spotty, but these sites are worth searching...  just in case.

Periodicals and Newspapers

Digital Collections

Women's Writers Project - A long term research project devoted to early modern women's writing and electronic text encoding. 

Humanities Librarian

Leslie Madden's picture
Leslie Madden
Contact:
Library South
Suite 542
404-413-2807

Local Archives

GSU Library Special Collections and Archives  Located on the 8th floor of Library South. Collection areas are Southern Labor, Popular Music, Women and Gender Collections, Georgia Government Documentation Project, University Archives, Rare Books, and Photographs.

Georgia Archives  Collects, manages, and preserves official records of the State of Georgia from 1732 to the present. Materials include vital records, land records, federal and state census records, photographs, and much more.

Auburn Avenue Research Library on African-American Culture and History  A division of the Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System - the nation's second largest archives specializing in the history of African Americans and Africans in the Diaspora. 

Emory University's Manuscript, Archives and Rare Book Library (MARBL)  Collections span more than 800 years of history — with particular depth in modern literature, African American history, and the history of Georgia and the South.

Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library of the University of Georgia  Includes the Rare Book Collection, Historical Manuscripts, and the Georgiana Collection. Subject interests include Georgia, book arts, theater, music, history, literature, journalism and genealogy.

National Archives - Southeast Region, Atlanta  Regional library administered by the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration

 

To find other archival collections, search: