Skip to main content

***Citation Styles: Citation Software

Zotero

Get Zotero

Zotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is a Firefox addon that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use, lives in your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies using Word or OpenOffice. It is easier to use than EndNote and surprisingly powerful.

Since it's a Firefox plugin, it automatically updates itself periodically to work with new online sources and new bibliographic styles.

Zotero Quick Start Guide

See also this great guide published by the Zotero developers themselves. Also available as a PDF.

Go to the GSU Library Zotero Guide

What is a Citation Manager?

Citation managers, or bibliographic management software, can save you hours by keeping track of your sources and formatting your bibliographies.

EndNote and EndNote Web are available at no cost to GSU students, faculty and staff. Zotero is available as a free Firefox plugin for anyone to download.

Save Time

Use software like EndNote and Zotero to manage your sources - download citations from library databases; export the bibliography into your paper. Compare the features of some different citation manager programs here.


EndNote
is a free download for GSU students, faculty and staff.  It's a desktop application that runs on Windows or MacOS.

Zotero is a free Firefox plugin that easily saves citations from GIL and most library databases, as well as sites like Amazon and the New York Times online.

Both programs have Word plugins that automatically create bibliographies in the style of your choice.

EndNote

EndNote is a database program for managing bibliographic citations. It can automate much of the work of organizing and formatting citations and bibliographies in your writing. EndNote can connect to online sources such as GIL and article databases, output results in over 1,000 different bibliographic styles, and more.

EndNote is available free of charge to GSU students, faculty and staff. Download the software here

Go to the GSU Library EndNote guide