Skip to main content

***Citation Styles: Turabian

Turabian Citation Basics

Developed for student researchers, Turabian is a derivative of the Chicago style. Thus, the citation formats for the two styles are nearly identical.

The Turabian style has two documentation systems:

Notes-Bibliography - Preferred by scholars in the humanities (arts, literature, history, etc.).

Place citations in notes either at the end of the page (footnotes) or at the end of the paper (endnotes). List all sources at the end of your paper on a new page entitled "Bibliography." Alphabetize the bibliography by author's last name, or by title if a work's author is unknown.

Author-Date - More concise; usually used by scholars in the sciences and social sciences.

Provide brief parenthetical citations within the paper (usually the author's last name and publication date). List full citations at the end of the work in a "Reference List."


The examples follow the notes-bibliography style. Chapters 15-19 of the manual provide full details on both formats.

Citing Books

Book - one author:

 

Note:

1. Jenny L. Presnell. The Information-Literate Historian: A Guide to Research for History Students (New York: Oxford University Press, 2007), 98.

Bibliography:

Presnell, Jenny L. The Information-Literate Historian: A Guide to Research for History Students. New York: Oxford University Press, 2007.


Book - editor:

 

Note:

2. Ori Z. Soltes, ed., Georgia: Art and Civilization through the Ages (London: Philip Wilson, 1999), 280.

Bibliography:

Soltes, Ori Z., ed. Georgia: Art and Civilization through the Ages. London: Philip Wilson, 1999.

Citing Articles

Article in a print journal:

 

Note:

3. Jonathan Dewald, "Crisis, Chronology, and the Shape of European Social History," American Historical Review 113 no. 4 (October 2008): 1037.

Bibliography:

Dewald, Jonathan. "Crisis, Chronology, and the Shape of European Social History." American Historical Review 113 no. 4 (October 2008): 1031-1052.


Online article from a database:

 

Note:

4. Emily Chao, "Dangerous Work: Women in Traffic," Modern China 28 no. 4 (October 2002): 73, http://www.jstor.org/stable/3181348 (accessed June 14, 2008).

Bibliography:

Chao, Emily. "Dangerous Work: Women in Traffic." Modern China 28 no. 4 (October 2002): 71-107. http://www.jstor.org/stable/3181348 (accessed June 14, 2008).

Citing Web Pages

Include as much of the following as you can determine: author of the content, page title, title or owner of the site, URL, and access date.

Note:

6. David Darlington, "Henry Hudson Meets Google Maps," American Historical Association: AHA Today, http://blog.historians.org/ resources/799/henry-hudson-meets-google-maps (accessed June 1, 2009).

Bibliography:

Darlington, David. "Henry Hudson Meets Google Maps." American Historical Association: AHA Today. http://blog.historians.org/ resources/799/henry-hudson-meets-google-maps (accessed June 1, 2009).

Turabian Style Guides

Online help:​​

Turabian Style Quick Guide

Copies of this style manual are available at the User Services Desk on Library North 1.