GSU Library Research Guides: Social Work: Empirical Articles: Databases for Empirical Articles

How to find empirical articles

Where Can I Find Empirical Articles?

Before you begin searching databases, you may want to get an overview of the topic, especially if you are unfamiliar with the topic. You can search reference books or Medline Plus.

The library subscribes to many collections of articles. These collections are often referrred to as databases. You can use them to search for scholarly, empirical articles which the library has purchased for your use. You can often limit your searches to scholarly content only through the Advanced Search feature of each database.

APA PsycInfo
International coverage of scholarly journals, book chapters, and dissertations Note: Use Advanced Search > Methodology to limit to EMPIRICAL STUDY.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals. The collection includes peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, and books, for STM research, the Social Sciences, Humanities, and other areas of academic studies. PDF content dates back as far as 1887.
Social Work Abstracts
NASW database, providing extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965.
Social Services Abstracts
Provides references and abstracts of research on social work, human services, and related areas.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
PubMed
It is comprised of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books, including the fields of life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, it is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives.

Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A source for references to current and historical literature related to the growth and development of children through the age of 21.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
Criminology: A SAGE Full Text Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of 24 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, encompassing over 20,400 articles and up to 87 years of backfiles.