GSU Library Research Guides: Social Action Alliance (AYSPS): Databases

Databases for Scholarly Articles

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Public Affairs Information Service) Index database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Authoritative index to articles in journals, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. Comprehensive, up-to-date coverage with 1.3 million records from 1886 present.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A full-text scientific databases offering journal articles and book chapters covering scientific, technical, and medical (STM) and social sciences research
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gives users access to political science and international relations journals, political science dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities, and current working papers from the Political Science Research Network.

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A well-known and highly-valued statistical reference providing a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR is research science data on topics from social media, politics, to GIS & more. By providing this data ICPSR seeks to advance and expand social and behavioral research.
ICSPR LibGuide

News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of several major U.S. and international newspapers such as The Atlanta Journal Constitution, The New York Times, and the Times of London.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text coverage for 245 national and international newspapers, newswires, and other sources.
New York Times (ProQuest Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Coverage ranges from 1980 - current. The New York Times is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences.