Interviewee: Melita Easters
Interviewer: Ellen Rafshoon
Date of Interview:
Biography:
Melita Easters is Executive Director and Founding Chair of Georgia WIN List. A graduate of the University of Georgia where she earned her degree in journalism, Easters worked for a variety of news outlets including The Tifton Gazette where she served as state news editor and the Atlanta Journal Constitution where she worked as a political reporter. Her television news experience includes seven years as a producer for Georgia Public Broadcasting's The Lawmakers. She also worked as press secretary in Roy Barnes' first campaign for governor. In 2000, Easters founded Georgia WIN List, a political action committee that supports progressive Democratic women. Through its WIN Leadership Academy, it recruits and trains candidates and helpd with fundrasing. Georgia WIN List has helped to elect more than 75 women to the Georgia legislature.
Abstract:
In this interview, Melita Easters explains the role of her organization, Georgia WIN List, a grassroots political action committee, in helping female candidates gain political office. Newly energized women in the 2018 midterm elections have set the standard for female participation in the political process, which will have a strong bearing on the 2020 elections. Easters cites Donald Trump as a major catalyst for women engaging in the political sphere after 2016.
Special Collections and Archives
Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives
Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law
Archives for Research on Women
Phone: (404) 413-2880
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu
Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202
In Person:
Library South, 8th floor
