Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ellen Rafshoon Oral Histories: About The Project

About the Project

The interviews in this collection were amassed by historian, Ellen G. Rafshoon who is a professor at Georgia Gwinnett College. She is writing a book on Georgia women who contributed to transforming the state's political orientation from solidly Republican to a battleground after the 2016 presidential election. The interviews were recorded and transcribed by Rafshoon and made public with the permission of the narrators. Researchers can use this collection to understand the emergence of progressive women's activism in Georgia and how it altered the state and national political landscape in the early part of the 21st century. Topics covered include reactions to the Trump victory / Clinton defeat in 2016, the historic post inaugural women's marches, and the formation of Democratic front organizations and the rejuvenation of the Democratic Party as unprecedented numbers of women ran for the gamut of local and national political offices and took part in voter integrity and registration efforts. 

 

 

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Oral Histories at GSU

Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives

Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law

Archives for Research on Women and Gender

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory