Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital Primary Sources Available Through GSU Library
Selected database collections. These are GSU subscription resources requiring a campus ID and password for off-campus access.
(Unfortunately, you will not have access to these after you graduate <sad trombone>)
For a full list of our subscription databases (including primary-source digital collections) see our Databases A-Z list.
For historical periodical databases, see the Historical Periodicals tab.
For historical newspaper databases, see the Historical Newspapers tab/guide.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
A collection of video available for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
Annals of American History This link opens in a new window
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents. GSU's records of the National Domestic Workers Union (NDWU) and selected portions of the United Garment Workers of America records have been digitized by Gale/Cengage Learning and made available to the Georgia State University community, both on and off-campus. Note: Image viewer requires Adobe Flash Player 10.0 or above.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A repository featuring images from some of the world’s leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists, facilitating research and education. Note: Users must first register for an account on-campus with a GSU email address before accessing the resource off-campus. Start by clicking on the "Enter Artstor Digital Library" link at the top of the main Artstor page, then click on the "Register" link in the top right corner of the page under "Welcome to Artstor" and fill out the accompanying form. To access the resource from off-campus after registering, users must log in using the additional authentication step. Users must log into their accounts every 120 days from campus to re-set the remote access period. If you use a pop-up blocker, you will need to turn it off to access this resource. Faculty: For authorization code / password needed to access the Instructor Privileges Manager, please contact Nedda Ahmed (email@example.com). ARTstor is paid for in part by GSU Student Technology Fee.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Studies the historical development of black culture by covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans.
British History Online This link opens in a new window
ATLANTA CAMPUS ONLY. Contains primary and secondary sources ranging from the medieval period to the twentieth century. Content includes maps, journals, letters, diaries, covering medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
Burney Collection Newspapers, 17th - 18th Century This link opens in a new window
Gathered by Reverend Charles Burney, this collection is comprised of predominantly 17th and 18th century London Newspapers. Titles range from 1603 to the 1800s.
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867 - 1970 This link opens in a new window
Provides maps charting the growth and development of American towns and cities. The maps are large-scale plans of cities and town to estimate the risk for urban structures, listing street blocks, building information, and property boundaries.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639 - 1800 This link opens in a new window
Digitized from Charles Evans' renowned "American Bibliography" and Roger Bristol's supplement, this resource contains almost every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America over a 160-year period. NOTE: Patrons must login with CampusID and password both on and off campus.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Contains titles written between 1473 and 1700 printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America. Includes primary sources such as almanacs, pamphlets, musical scores, and prayer books.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
This resource is compiled from Gale's The Eighteenth Century microfilm collection and the English Short Title Catalogue, providing an online library of 18th century titles printed in the United Kingdom.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
An interactive collection of primary source documents for the study of "Empire" and its theories, practices, and consequences, covering the last five centuries. Features essays, maps, and an interactive chronology.
Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs This link opens in a new window
A cross-cultural resource for the study of women's history, its coverage spanning 1543 - 1945 from continental Europe, the US, the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand. Consists of two segments: The Periodical Series and the Monograph Language Series (comprised of monographs and pamphlets tracing suffragism, women's issues, and the history of organized movements).
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Offers four major library collections: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library. Note: Access is provided by the Georgia State University College of Law Library.
History Vault: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century This link opens in a new window
Consists of primary source materials from ProQuest's University Publications of America (UPA) Collection. Black Freedom Struggle I consists of 37 collections of records from federal government agencies, and Black Freedom Struggle II consists of 36 personal papers and organizational records collections.
Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window
Provides U.S. public opinion poll data through a full-text retrieval system organized at the question level. Note: GSU users can access the download data sets, many of which are available in SPSS format.
iPoll is now Roper iPoll. You must create a new account in order to access the new Roper iPoll.
Making of Modern Law This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive full text collection of Anglo-American legal treatises, providing digital images of thousands of legal treatises on US and British law published between 1800 and 1926. It includes casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, and speeches. Note: Access is provided by the Georgia State University College of Law Library.
Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest: Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950 - 1975 This link opens in a new window
Focusing on substantial collections of original archival material, Popular Culture explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. This resource offers thousands of color images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.
Note: If accessing from off-campus, you must enter "Georgia State University" under "Find your institution" to be brought to our login page.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
A portal for slavery studies offering primary source documents and secondary sources (an interactive map, scholarly essays, tutorials, a visual sources gallery, chronology, and bibliography) allowing for exploration and comparison of material related to slavery, abolition, and social justice.
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832 - 1978 This link opens in a new window
A fully searchable online collection of records and briefs, including transcripts, applications for review, motions, petitions, supplements, and other official papers of cases. Note: Access is provided by the Georgia State University College of Law Library.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600 - 2000 This link opens in a new window
A resource for US and US women's history, specifically organized around the history of women in social movements in the US from 1600 - 2000. Contains document projects, archives of full-text documents, teaching tools, and book/film/website reviews.
These databases contain the archives of a single periodical title:
Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Life Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Articles and cover pages are fully indexed and advertisements are individually identified. Life Magazine Archive covers 20th-Century current events, politics and culture, including the history of business, advertising, and popular culture.
New Republic Archive This link opens in a new window
The New Republic Archive database provides current and past issues, with coverage dating back to 1914, of The New Republic in PDF format. Coverage includes politics, the arts, culture, current event, foreign policy, and politics.
National Review Archive This link opens in a new window
A digital resource for conservative news, commentary, and opinion, offering complete abstracting, indexing, and full text coverage for all journal issues dating from its inception in 1955 to the present, providing coverage of political, social, and cultural issues and trends.
Nation Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains indexing, abstracting, and full text for the complete archive of The Nation from its first issue on July 6, 1865 to the present, including historic articles, editorials, letters, reviews, poems, puzzles, and also perspectives on news, politics, and culture.
Harper's Weekly, 1857 - 1912 (HarpWeek) This link opens in a new window
Covers the Civil War era to the Gilded Age in a consistent, chronological record. Harper's Weekly was America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper.
These databases are searchable collections of historical magazines and periodicals:
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Includes digitized images of pages from American magazines and journals published during the colonial period to the early 20th century, chronicling the development of America.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890 - 1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Provides a detailed account of US culture and history in a searchable database including articles from popular US magazines. It offers full coverage of the original paper volumes of the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature.
This is a selection of major historical newspapers available to GSU affiliates by subscription.
See the Newspaper Holdings research guide for more detailed information about the GSU Library's current and historical newspaper holdings.
This guide will include information not just about our newspaper databases but also about our newspaper microfilm holdings.
While you will not have access to these databases after you graduate, anyone is allowed to come to the GSU Library to use our microfilm collections.
We have microfilm readers that will let you print or scan images/text to PDF.
After you have graduated, you will need to check in at the circulation desk before using microfilm
in order to get assistance with logging in to the microfilm readers.
New York Times, 1851 - 2017 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Provided by ProQuest Historical Newspapers, offers full text coverage from 1851 to 2017 of the arrival of immigrants, the global financial markets, the introduction of the mass-produced automobile, television, space travel, medical innovations, and more.
Atlanta Daily World, 1931 - 2003 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
The Atlanta Daily World is Atlanta's oldest continuously publishing African American newspaper and one of its oldest African American-owned business. Founded by W.A. Scott on August 5, 1928, it became America's first successful African American daily newspaper in 1933.
Atlanta Constitution, 1868 - 1984 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
The Atlanta Constitution, historically known as "The Voice of the New South," is the only major daily newspaper in the Atlanta area. This is a full-image archive covering content 1868 - 1984 includes all articles, editorials, ads, and photographs.
Chicago Defender, 1910 - 1975 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
The Chicago Defender was the most influential African-American newspaper of the 20th century, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside the Chicago area. This resource provides full page and article images with searchable full text.
Washington Evening Star Historical Archive, 1852 - 1981 This link opens in a new window
This long-running daily afternoon paper served as the newspaper of record for the nation's capital, covering national politics and the daily activities of every branch of government. NOTE: Patrons must login with CampusID and password both on and off campus.
Times Digital Archive (1785-1985) This link opens in a new window
An online, full-text archive of over 200 years of The Times of London (the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication). This archive details every issue from 1785 - 1985, covering major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falklands War.