Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Historical Events on Films Research Guide! This guide will help you locate films based on historical events in the U.S..
GSU Library Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Search Complete provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals. The collection includes peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, and books, for STM research, the Social Sciences, Humanities, and other areas of academic studies. PDF content dates back as far as 1887.
GSU Library Films on Demand
Films on Demand (Master Academic Collection) consists of 7,000 video titles in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, Science and United Newsreels. *Note: Not all mobile devices are supported. See list of supporteddevices.
GSU Library KANOPY Streaming Video
* Note: Some Kanopy titles are currently unavailable for viewing but might be available for purchase consideration. Click through to the video to fill out a request.
GSU Library SWANK Digital Campus
Offers online streaming of a wide range of feature films, documentaries, and foreign films.
* Browsers Supported: Firefox, Safari, Internet Explorer, Chrome
Film and Television Literature Index
Bibliographic and full-text database covering film and television research, covering books, journals, movie reviews, and images.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
Includes full-text articles and books for those studying theatre and the performing arts, and contains author supplied abstracts and keywords, and author affiliations.
Internet Movie Database
IMDb is the world's most popular and authoritative source for movie, TV and celebrity content. Find ratings and reviews for the newest movie and TV shows. Get personalized recommendations, and learn where to watch across hundreds of streaming providers.
The Official Academy Awards Database
The Academy Awards Database contains the record of past Academy Award winners and nominees, including Scientific and Technical Award winners. Basic and advanced search options are available as well as an option to browse statistics.