Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Change Collections Overview: About

An overview of archival materials found in the Social Change collecting area.

Overview

The Social Change Collections document select social movements, primarily in Georgia. Materials in the collections describe activism related to the environment, education, and the death penalty; community-building efforts and civic engagement in Atlanta neighborhoods; and the city's economic and social development from the mid-20th century to the present. Among the materials is an extensive collection of oral histories, including the Georgia Government Documentation Project, which details the state’s political and social history and includes interviews with former governors, legislators, political activists, civil rights leaders, media figures, lawyers, judges, and social crusaders.

Manuscript Collections

Michael H. Trotter papers, 1962-2012 (Y001)
Correspondence, reports, speeches, articles and newspaper clippings, certificates, bound volumes, resolutions and proclamations spanning more that forty years of civic activism. 

Millard Farmer papers, 1960-1995; 2001-2002 (Y002)
Attorney Millard Farmer has fought against the death penalty since the 1960s. His papers primarily comprise legal files and records, the papers include correspondence, photographs, sound recordings, and printed material such as reports, articles, and clippings. 

Joan O. King papers, 1975-2010 (Y003)
Correspondence and printed material such as fact sheets and articles on the nuclear power industry. Much of the collection contains articles and letters written by Mrs. King, regarding the hazardous nature of the nuclear industry, including reactors, radioactive material, and nuclear repository sites such as Yucca Mountain. 

Diana Eidson papers, 2010-2012 (Y004)
Diana Eidson was Assistant Director of Lower Division Studies at Georgia State University’s English Department while working on her doctorate in Composition and Rhetoric. Her papers consist of printed material including flyers, protest chants, and booklets, and correspondence and notes, relating to social justice events such as Occupy Atlanta/Occupy GSU (Georgia State University) and Fair Food Justice. 

Dan Sweat papers, 1964-1986 (Y005)
Correspondence, minutes and agendas, notes, financial records, and such printed materials as clippings and reports, document philanthropy, planning, education, and religious organizations in the Atlanta area through Sweat’s association with many non-profit organizations, community groups, and educational institutions. 

Ed Arnold papers, 1976-2009 (Y006)
Ed Arnold served as executive director of the Atlanta chapter of Physicians for Social Responsibility. His papers consist of office files, meetings minutes, conferences, workshops, campaign flyers, project information, audio and visual materials, periodicals, and artifacts documenting his environmentalism and antinuclear activism. 

Chris Valley papers, 1962-2009 (Y008)
Correspondence and printed material, including reports, periodicals and articles, pamphlets and publicity material, programs and invitations, and procedural documents. The materials document Valley’s work at the non-profit organization, Families First, as well as other aspects of his professional career. 

Sam Collier papers, 1985-2008 (Y009)
Sam Collier was a key member of the Sierra Club in the Southeast, working to protect the environment. The Sam Collier papers, 1985-2008, contain correspondence, reports and surveys, meetings and agendas, grant and funding proposals, and newspaper articles related to preserving the environment. 

Alpha May Bond papers, 2007-2014 (Y010)
The Alpha May Bond papers consist of correspondence, family newsletters, genealogical research, and a manuscript draft created by Bond, who was a Mercer University sociology professor.

Matthew Cardinale papers, 2002-2012 (Y012)
Matthew Cardinale founded and edits the Atlanta Progressive News. His papers, 2002-2012, include materials created and gathered over the course of his activities as a journalist and political activist. A large portion of the papers concerns the demolition of public housing communities in Atlanta.

Jennifer Giarratano collection on Atlanta economic development, 1985-2005 (Y013)
The Jennifer Giarratano collection on Atlanta economic development consists of speeches, publications, reports, newsletters, and a small amount of correspondence. 

Harvey Newman papers, 1967-2015 (Y016)
The Harvey Newman papers) consists of Newman's professional, academic papers from his time at Georgia State University and contains teaching files, research materials, publications, drafts, interviews, and correspondence. Dr. Harvey K. Newman has an extensive academic and professional background in urban policy studies, with much of his research focused on Atlanta.

Metro Atlanta Task Force for the Homeless records, 1987-2017 (Y020)
Records of the Task Force's operations and programs, including manuals and policy documents, audit reports and other financial records, publications, photos, client forms and files, real estate records and floor plans, city contracts, and subject files. Records document Peachtree-Pine shelter operations, advocacy work, and outreach programs.

John Greer papers, 1948-1986 (P1987-07M)
Part of the Georgia Government Documentation Project, this collection consists of various political ads, campaign materials, press clippings, endorsements, campaign finance records, contributor and voter information, constituent letters, and Sibley Committee material. Personal and political mementos are contained in the scrapbooks. 

Dan E. Sweat, Jr. papers, 1973-1989 (P2002-06)
Sweat spent over three decades in public service and city development in Atlanta, including 15 years as president of the nonprofit corporation Central Atlanta Progress. Part of the Georgia Government Documentation Project, his papers include speeches, correspondence, and newspaper clippings and document his involvement with many Atlanta organizations. 

David J. Worley papers, 1974-1991 (P2011-01M)
Worley, an Atlanta attorney, ran unsuccessful Congressional campaigns against Republican Newt Gingrich in 1988 and 1990. Newspaper clippings make up much of the David J. Worley papers. Almost all of the collection, which is part of the Georgia Government Documentation Project, is from the 1988 and 1990 Congressional races. 

Social Change Archivist

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives Department

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory

Oral History Collections

Georgia Government Documentation Project Oral Histories 

In Whose Hearts Is a Highway: The Buford Highway Oral History Project (Y019)

Great Speckled Bird Oral History Project (Y015)

Social Change Oral History Collection (Y021)

Atlanta South Asian Oral History Collection (Y018)

Immigrant Oral History Project Collection (Y014)

Other Collections