This page is just a quick reference. For more details, check one of the following:
Provides recommendations on style and process for writers, editors, and publishers in the digital age. The 16th edition expands coverage of producing electronic publications and electronic rights.
There's also a print copy available at the Research Support Desk, Library North 1st floor (Z253 .U69).
For a great application to manage and cite your sources, check out my Zotero guide.
Ask me for help getting started with Zotero!
This page has examples of how to cite sources in Chicago style. For more details and examples, see the links in the left column.
Article in a print journal:
Note:
3. Jonathan Dewald, "Crisis, Chronology, and the Shape of European Social History," American Historical Review 113 no. 4 (October 2008): 1037.
Bibliography:
Dewald, Jonathan. "Crisis, Chronology, and the Shape of European Social History." American Historical Review 113 no. 4 (October 2008): 1031-1052.
Online article from a database:
Note:
4. Emily Chao, "Dangerous Work: Women in Traffic," Modern China 28 no. 4 (October 2002): 73, http://www.jstor.org/stable/3181348 (accessed June 14, 2008).
Bibliography:
Chao, Emily. "Dangerous Work: Women in Traffic." Modern China 28 no. 4 (October 2002): 71-107. http://www.jstor.org/stable/3181348 (accessed June 14, 2008).
Book - one author:
Note:
1. Jenny L. Presnell. The Information-Literate Historian: A Guide to Research for History Students (New York: Oxford University Press, 2007), 98.
Bibliography:
Presnell, Jenny L. The Information-Literate Historian: A Guide to Research for History Students. New York: Oxford University Press, 2007.
Book - editor:
Note:
2. Ori Z. Soltes, ed., Georgia: Art and Civilization through the Ages (London: Philip Wilson, 1999), 280.
Bibliography:
Soltes, Ori Z., ed. Georgia: Art and Civilization through the Ages. London: Philip Wilson, 1999.
Include as much of the following as you can determine: author of the content, page title, title or owner of the site, URL, and access date.
Note:
6. David Darlington, "Henry Hudson Meets Google Maps," American Historical Association: AHA Today, http://blog.historians.org/ resources/799/henry-hudson-meets-google-maps (accessed June 1, 2009).
Bibliography:
Darlington, David. "Henry Hudson Meets Google Maps." American Historical Association: AHA Today. http://blog.historians.org/ resources/799/henry-hudson-meets-google-maps.
