GSU Library Research Guides: *Statistics and Data: Demographics

Data Services Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

404-413-2800

Are you using an openly accessible resource in your course? We want to hear about it! Please complete the short form, linked below.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer contains detailed historic and current census information in an easy to use format.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyMap enables non-technical users to quickly create professional quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business, health and marketing data. *Note* to save your work, create a username and password.

Data.census.gov
Search portal for the most recent US Census Surveys, including the American Community Survey and the Decennial Census.
Metro Atlanta Equity Atlas - Demographic Maps
The Metro Atlanta Equity Atlas (MAEA) is an online data tool, designed to connect local stakeholders to timely, accurate data. MAEA “well-being” categories include demographics, economic development, education, environment, health, housing, public safety, and transportation.
Georgia Department of Health Data & Statistics
Use the OASIS tool to access publicly available health data and statistics for the State of Georgia, or use PHIP to request access.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics > Southeast Information Office > Georgia
The Bureau of Labor Statistics measures labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity in the U.S. economy to support public and private decision making.

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyMap enables non-technical users to quickly create professional quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business, health and marketing data. *Note* to save your work, create a username and password.

Data.census.gov
Data migrated from the American FactFinder, provided by the US Census Bureau.
Census.gov
Provides quality data about the United States of America, its people, and economy.
Statistical Abstract of the United States, 1878 - 2012
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Statistical Abstract of the United States - 2013 forward

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer contains detailed historic and current census information in an easy to use format. Although Social Explorer does not contain every census table, it does provide the most frequently sought after census data. If you cannot find the information that you are looking for, you may have to consult the printed census volumes. Please contact a librarian for further assistance.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Historical United States data on migration, health, crime, climate and the environment, religion, economics, and more.

International Historical Statistics : Europe, 1750-2005
Provides statistical data in easy to use tables, for the last 254 years (where available) of every country in the American continent.
International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania 1750-2005
Provides key economic and social indicators for the last 255 years, serving as an essential reference source.
International Historical Statistics. The Americas, 1750-2000
Provides key economic and social indicators for the last 250 years for countries on the American continent, serving as an essential reference source for both hard-to-find historical data and the latest figures available.

Eurostat
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
Millennium Indicators Database
This site presents the official data, definitions, methodologies and sources for more than 60 indicators to measure progress towards the Millennium Development Goals.
Statistical Agencies by Country
U.S. Census Bureau site that links to official statistical agencies of countries, English versions where available.
Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean
This annual publication is one of the leading sources of statistical information of the region, and contains social, economic and environmental data from the countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.
UNdata
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
United Nations Demographic Yearbook
The Demographic Yearbook provides official national population statistics for over 230 countries and areas of the world.